We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karen Blixen Camp - Perfect Home Base for Our Safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karen Blixen Camp
Save
You added Karen Blixen Camp to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C13 Lolgorien -north-western Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Karen Blixen Camp - Perfect Home Base for Our Safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We spent three days at the camp. Our party included 7 family members ages 6 - 48 years. The accomodations were excellent, comfortable yet simple and "green." The food was great and dining options were fexible to accomodate special child and gluten free requets. We saw MANY animals and our guides were impeccable - knowlegeable, flexible and friendly with excellent English language skills. Our stay at Karen Blixen far exceeded my expecations in terms of the overall quality of our safari experience.

Room Tip: The "Tents" are all deluxe with very nice outdoor shower facilities. ooms closer to the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    23
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
101
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

The journey was the reward at the Karen Blixen Camp. We stayed for two nights in late September at the height of the Wildebeest Migration as part of our honeymoon. Our time was shot and we considered not going to the Masai Mara given the remoteness of the region, and instead spend more time in other areas of Kenya. However we were ever so glad we decided to visit the Karen Blixen Camp in the Masai Mara as the experience ranks among the best trips my husband and I have ever been on.

We were warmly welcomed off our Air Kenya flight inside the Mara North Conservancy and saw giraffes, elephants and hyenas on the 35 minute drive to the camp. When arriving we were welcomed personally by management, and they took us through a quick a-z of what the camp offered and suggested timings for our game drives. We settled into our lovely 'glamping' style tents with al fresco shower and decorated with every detail in mind (we were given tent #1 which was the most private at the north part of the river) and then we enjoyed a lovely lunch on the river with a pack of hippos only 50m away in the water. After lunch we were personally toured around the camp by management on an 'eco walk' to understand the amazing measures the camp is undertaking to be carbon neutral and the school they are building to educate the local people on hospitality and conservation to put their trade to work in the future at the camp or within the community. At 2:00pm we met our guide for the two days who was very professional and wanted to know specifically what we were there to see. When we had discussed this he suggested a plan and itinerary that would work for us. We decided to visit the Mara North Conservancy that afternoon and schedule a full day (the following day) inside the Masai Mara Conservancy with a picnic lunch. My husband was very keen to see male lions right away and lo and behold within 30 minutes we approached a pride of lions and one beautiful male sitting elegantly next to a lone acacia tree perched high on a plain overlooking the river valleys below. It was a wonderful way to set the tone and it only got better.

Upon returning to the camp that evening a freak storm broke, but the tent and common areas were equipped and weathered the storm perfectly. They put up water proof coverings to shield us during dinner, which was enjoyed in a candle lit room at our own personal table. I know in some camps the dinners are more communal but in the KBC case we were happy to dine alone at our own table and be amongst others in a more social setting during the day on our 8 hour plus game drives. Following dinner we were personally escorted back to our tent by a masai in traditional dress with spears in case we might come across an unwelcoming animal friend, but our guide assured us this rarely occurs and is just precautionary more than anything.

Our big day in the Masai Mara began at 6:30am with a breakfast before leaving the camp at 7:30am. What can I say. It was one of the most exciting and enjoyable days in the wild. We saw the Big Five - Lions, Cheetahs, Rhinos, Leopards and Elephants! This was a full day in the bush with a beautiful picnic lunch by the river on a beautiful, crystal clear, crisp day. Wow.

When we returned to the camp we enjoyed a much needed al fresco shower in our tent and then were surprised with a visit from the local masai tribal people who danced and sang in a delightful procession as everybody enjoyed drinks around the fireplace. The night was capped off with a private dinner on the outside deck of our tent and our own personal waiter. It was so romantic.

The following morning we planted a couple of trees and then headed to the airport. We will be back to the Masia Mara again and will stay five nights this time at the Karen Blixen Camp!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uganda
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This was perfect for a chilled couple of days. The staff were brilliant. On the first day we saw four leopards! Three on the riverbank oppo the camp. The rooms were really comfortable and the decor was stunning. Service was fantastic all round and the hosts couldn't do enough. I would return tomorrow if I could

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Doesnt get much better than this. The setting is unreal, in possibly the greatest destination on earth for wildlife lovers. "Camp" doesnt really do it justice as its very much a luxury experience as is so often the case in the Mara. The food really stood out as well, a very varied offering but all delicious. We were there with clients and everyone one of them was almost in tears when it was time to leave. Tells you all you need to know...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed at Karen Blixen Camp for 2 nights at the beginning of October. It was the first of four camps we stayed in on a wonderful Flying Safari organised by Imagine Africa. (www.imagineafrica.co.uk) and it did not disappoint. The location is superb and the accomodation excellent. The luxury tents are spacious and very comfortable, with huge verandahs The staff were fantastic and could not do enough for us- we were celebrating special birthdays and were treated to a wonderful evening of Masai dancing and birthday cake. Our only regret is that 2 nights was not long enough and we would say if you are staying at this camp, 3 nights is the minimum in order to enjoy it fully. We would have liked more time at the camp to just watch the animals around the watering hole and along the river. Our guide on the Game Drives was Dominic who was fantastic and very knowledgable. The only reason we have marked the camp as 4 and not 5 is that although the food was absolutely fine, we did have better food at a couple of the other camps we stayed in, although they could never match the location of Karen Blixen Camp and the Masai Mara.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Karen Blixen was our last of four stops on a 6-day safari. My boyfriend and I stayed there for 3 nights. We chose to travel by car - wouldn't do that again though as the last 3 hours or so are on REALLY rough roads.
We had stayed at a tented camp in Sweetwaters before- but Karen Blixen was way more luxurious. The bed was always nicely made - after we left for a gamedrive into a daybed and in the evening back and a warm-water bottle was put in on the foot end.. The bathroom-part of the tent was huge- could fit a parisian apartment just in that ;-)
and the outdoor shower was hot and really nice. Especially when we had a shower at 4 in the morning before a balloon-ride and saw soo many stars :-)
The common area had no electricity (except for freezer and telephone) but instead was lighted by gaslamps, which gave it a real yesterday-safari-feel.
During the day you can sit outside and watch the hippos in the water and whatever else shows up to drink (apart from antilopes etc. we saw elephants and giraffes) sipping a cool drink.
From the minute we arrived the service was absolutely great- starting from Senior Management down to nightguards. We were greated by the assistand manager and shown our tent together with the person in charge of cleaning it and assisting in whatever else we needed. At the meals we had our assigned waiter who was very nice - even taught us a few Masai-words and asked us the day before when we were at the camp for meals or not.. The best were our Masai drivers though Twala and Duncan. With them we managed to see all the animals we wanted to see and so much more :-)
One day the electricity at our tent went out just before breakfast. We mentioned it to the guard on the way to breakfast- and when we got back the problem was solved.
Now to the animals: right at the hotel you got the hippos and various other animals drinking. The camp is outside the national park in an area used by I think 10 camps in total. So most of the gamedrives (except for the whole-day ones) take place in this inhabited area. So between wild animal sightings you got Masai villages and their herds of cattle and goats, which is an interesting mix I think. What is nice is that on each sighting you can only have a limited number of cars and then that animal has to be left along- while in the NP you tend to have 5-10 cars parked up against each other on some sightings..
We did one whole-day gamedrive in the National Park with a picnic lunch. We were very lucky- and had two great guides: we saw 4 of the big 5 including 2 Leopards (the rhino we had already seen 6 times at a previous camp so it didn't matter), a big crossing, 3 male lion-brothers greeting each other, lots of baby cubs ...
I have absolutely nothing to complain about at the camp and would definately recommend Karen Blixen Camp!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Karen Blixen camp was an unforgettable experience from start to finish. We arrived after a 5 hour drive over some of Kenya's worst roads and were greeted by a couple of managers who welcomed us and we were offered hot towels and a flute of fruit juice which hit the spot after the long drive. The staff at KBC was highly trained and could not do enough for me during our 3 day stay (10/21-24) Simon our waiter took care of all our needs and was always there to get us anything we wanted. He even delivered to our tent in the pouring rain some coffee to our tent. I do not know of many places that offer this type of exceptional service.

The tents were everything and more comfortable beds that were turned down every night and a hot water bottle was placed under the covers.

The food was great and the atmosphere of the camp was very relaxing and could not beat the view of hippos and other animals coming down to the Mara river to drink .

If you go here specifically request David and Jackson as your game drive guides they went all out to make sure they knew what we wanted to see and exceeded our expectations of seeing everything but the rhino (very hard to see anyway) The trade off was an 1.5 hour experience with a leopard that was chased up a tree by baboons and we waited 30 minutes and the leopard came down out of the tree and walked around our truck within 7 feet. It was amazing !
David had to do some slick driving over some of the volcanic rocks to get us in a position to get the best photos. We also saw lions eating a wildebeest carcass, Lions mating, cheetah, buffalo, elephants, etc.

I cant say enough about the three days I spent there except this is the place to go in Kenya.
Joe Wiegand

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karen Blixen Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Blixen Camp

Address: C13 Lolgorien -north-western Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Class:5 star — Karen Blixen Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen Blixen Camp in the Masai Mara offers an authentic ’yesteryear’ experience for visitors wishing to gain that little extra from their safari. Set on the bank of the Mara River; the location is spectacular. Throughout the day elephants, giraffes, zebras and impalas come for a drink while a large hippo pod rest lazily in the river. The Camp gives a feeling of the early 1920’s era with beautiful and comfortable furniture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Karen Blixen Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Karen Blixen Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.