We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special 25th Wedding Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Timbo Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Timbo Camp
Masai Mara, Triangle | near Olololo-Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Munich
1 review
“A very special 25th Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

When we arrived, we were strangers and just guests. 5 days later we had found new friends. We spent wonderful days in Mara Timbo Camp. The tents were wonderful. The meals were really good and we have got the Swahili meals we had asked for. We had wonderful days out in the park and we have seen so many animals. Thanks to the guides, who have done everything possible to make us happy. Back in the camp we had nice evenings with dinner and cocktails in the dark near the river with all those Hippos.
But the best was the evening of our 25th wedding anniversary. It was an awsome experience to celebrate this like a Masai wedding: with dancing Masai warriors, with singing Masai women and together with the whole staff of the camp. We will never forget this very special evening together with friends.
Thanks to the whole staff, to Gideon, Rakita, Steven, Stella, Anthony .... We miss you all.
We will come again.

Assante sana, Uwe and Iris

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

In the summer of 2012 I had the privilege to spend a couple of nights in this camp, and truly, no words can ever describe how wonderful the experience was.

First of all the location sets it apart from any other camp in the area. It's located right in the bush, on the bank of the Mara river. The view over the river with the hippos and crocodiles you have during breakfast, lunch or dinner is truly breathtaking. You can go to one of the other camps and feel like you're in a luxury resort, just like in any other place in the world, or you can get the real Africa experience at Mara Timbo, albeit with all the comfort you can imagine. Every tent comes with personal butler service, jacuzzi, shower, and a large but really comfortable bed.

As I said the view during the meals is great, but that's not the only thing. The meals themselves are prepared by a chef that could easily deserve his place in any European top restaurant. Truly, if gastronomy is your thing, this is the place to be!

Furthermore the service is top-notch. Every staff member is very skilled, professional and does everything to ensure you have an unforgettable stay. Being an ex holiday rep I have worked in many luxury resorts around the world, and to be honest I have rarely seen the hospitality and service delivered in this camp!

The entrance to the park is only a very short drive away. During our stay, we had to cross some rugged terrain to get there, but this was due to the heavy rainfall just before we arrived, as we were the first guests after the rain season.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al-Muharrak, Al Muharraq, Bahrain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

People is what makes the difference when it comes to a camp. And MaraTimbo has it all!!!
Great people, great camp!!! What you need to stay in confort, and feel the family lifetstyle.
Campfire every evening heatting up the dinner area, great massage, great service in bar and food.
Masai Mara off course is just an amazing sightseeing!!! Just go and enjoy it, as we did!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This camp has wonderful staff and provided excellent service. It was just what we needed after driving in from Nairobi. Massage after dinner was incredible and put me to sleep. Food was excellent and the accomodations were very private and comfortable. I only wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The Masai Mara itself is outstanding, but what made the real difference for our 6 days were the people at the Mara Timbo Camp! Every aspect of service and hospitality was very friendly and personal: meals were very nice, including some special request (try the local Ugali, it is an experience!), room service, laundry service, nights at the bar, massage, area guards, and last but not least the guiding on the safari trips (we were astonished what they spotted where we only saw grass). Any aspect of the infrastructure is very clean and perfect (bed, bathrooms, area), the team takes utmost care and tries to accommodate for any request. The camp is located in a conservation area next to the Masai Mara, therewith even the drive to the Camp itself is a safari already, you may explore unexpected animals, landscape and vegetation! And every meal at the Camp is unique, not only because of the great food that you enjoy under African skies (or stars during dinner), but also because the Hippos in the river right next to the lunch and dining area are always ready for a unique 'performance'.

Room Tip: I think it really does not matter which tent/house you choose, anyone is just great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Mara Timbo blew our mind. went for long weekend with Friends and kids to run mara marathon. Marathon was horrifically organised (but stunning). Mara Timbo was brilliant. The tents are pure luxury, food was great, and the staff is absolutely unbelievable. Nothing is to much trouble, they entertained the kids every waking hour. Setting is on the Mara River, small camp - go you won't regret it.

Room Tip: All rooms a brilliant, we have 2 boys 8 and 6, so the family tent is perfect - own rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

Mara Timbo is bush beautiful, has a tasteful feel and amazing staff. I loved the fact that you are served by one person from day one and this makes it so easy.I loved the bathtub outside the tent. Soaking after a game drive was amazing

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mara Timbo Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Timbo Camp

Address: Masai Mara, Triangle | near Olololo-Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic camp under German Management ideally situated on Mara River with two large hippo families in front of only 7 spacious 45sqm luxury tents. They are situated on big terraces and offer outside bathtubs with view to the wild animals. A personal Butler Service pays very much attention to the maximum of privacy. Tent-facilities include king-size bed, safe, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, flush toilet, 220/240volt power supply. Activities: Game Drives, Nature Walk, Maasai Village, Balloon Safaris, Night Game Drives. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Timbo Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Timbo Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Timbo Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mara Timbo Camp to your Saves list