We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elephantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Timbo Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Timbo Camp
Save
You added Mara Timbo Camp to your Saves list
Masai Mara, Triangle | near Olololo-Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elephantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The Masai Mara itself is outstanding, but what made the real difference for our 6 days were the people at the Mara Timbo Camp! Every aspect of service and hospitality was very friendly and personal: meals were very nice, including some special request (try the local Ugali, it is an experience!), room service, laundry service, nights at the bar, massage, area guards, and last but not least the guiding on the safari trips (we were astonished what they spotted where we only saw grass). Any aspect of the infrastructure is very clean and perfect (bed, bathrooms, area), the team takes utmost care and tries to accommodate for any request. The camp is located in a conservation area next to the Masai Mara, therewith even the drive to the Camp itself is a safari already, you may explore unexpected animals, landscape and vegetation! And every meal at the Camp is unique, not only because of the great food that you enjoy under African skies (or stars during dinner), but also because the Hippos in the river right next to the lunch and dining area are always ready for a unique 'performance'.

Room Tip: I think it really does not matter which tent/house you choose, anyone is just great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Mara Timbo blew our mind. went for long weekend with Friends and kids to run mara marathon. Marathon was horrifically organised (but stunning). Mara Timbo was brilliant. The tents are pure luxury, food was great, and the staff is absolutely unbelievable. Nothing is to much trouble, they entertained the kids every waking hour. Setting is on the Mara River, small camp - go you won't regret it.

Room Tip: All rooms a brilliant, we have 2 boys 8 and 6, so the family tent is perfect - own rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Mara Timbo is bush beautiful, has a tasteful feel and amazing staff. I loved the fact that you are served by one person from day one and this makes it so easy.I loved the bathtub outside the tent. Soaking after a game drive was amazing

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I was very anxious about the camp, its location etc., but when we reached this camp, we were welcomed with warm towels and some cold refreshing drinks. The manager and others made us feel very welcome and lunch was arranged by the hippo pool. It was absolutely fantastic. And what can I say about the food. Awesome! I am a vegetarian and was wondering if I would have much choice and how would the food be, but special meals were served for me and it was fantastic. We were the only guests at that time, so I thought that there won't be a camp fire specially for us at the night. but I was wrong. When we reached the camp after an afternoon safari, we were led to the camp fire location and there was a table set up for us, for dinner. The sky was full of amazing shining stars. We also got a massage from Freya. She is a wonderful lady with a smile always on her face.

The camp itself is very spacious, clean with a very high standard of cleanliness. I loved the place and I'd highly recommend it. Although I must say that the road to the camp is rough and bumpy....but we got used to it and my 10yr old enjoyed the bumps! Wish I had stayed there longer, as we were booked only for 2 nights. I would've loved to spend a day just by the hippo pool lazing.

Room Tip: The room we had was by itself separate from all other rooms. And there are only 9-11 rooms. So makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband and I have been on safari in Kenya for the last 5 years in a row. In fact we were married on safari our first year with all of our family with us. The Mara is such a beautiful place and all of the experiences we have had there have been exceptional. The Mara Timbo camp was unique to all the other camps as it is more of a private setting. If you do not want to have to share your safari with the crowds I definitely recommend this camp. The tents and grounds are exactly as you see them in the pictures. We were blown away to find that every tent was in excellent condition and the wildlife was right at your door step. In fact, they station Masai guards at your door at night to make sure that none of the animals find there way in! We had hippos in view at every meal as our dining tables were set up outdoors by the river. The relaxing sound of the river flowing, the outdoor baths and porch swings in every tent made for a very relaxing time. The food was excellent and the staff were kind and ready to meet our every need. We loved having a personal staff member for each tent. This is not your large safari camp, with big buffets for your meals and lots of other travelers around. It is quiet, tranquil and more "in nature" than we have experienced in the past. The trip from Nairobi is bumpy for a lot of the ride but we saw many animals along the way. As we pulled up to the camp there were herds of elephants grazing on the trees! We would definitely stay at Mara Timbo again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had a wonderful time at Mara Timbo and the service was exceptional. The staff (Gideon, Felictas, all the security men and our guide Charles) went out of their way to ensure we have a memorable and enjoyable experience. The camp itself was very beautiful and we had a bathtub outside our room :-). I will certainly go back to Mara Timbo and also suggest it to people I know.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We spent 3 days at mara Timbo as part of our honeymoon and the staff couldn't do enough for us! The tent is amazing, probably the most comfortable beds in whole of Africa! Everyday they lay flowers and in the evening they even put a hot water bottle to keep the bed warm for you. I can't fault the service, it was really great, on our last night they even baked a congratulations cake and sang typical Kenyan songs for us!
The camp is about 35/40 mins from the Olololo gate and yes do be prepared for a rough drive but it's all part of the fun and we never minded it infact we took some lovely pictures of the landscape and saw a lot of animals on the way.
Gideon our guide was a really nice guy, trying his best to make us see as many animals as possible, make sure you ask for him as I truly believe he's the best guide at mara Timbo. August is a great time to go to Masai Mara if you are looking to see the migration, however is a little harder to see Cheetahs and leopards as the grass is really high and makes it difficult to spot them so on this occasion we didn't see any...
If romance, a bit of luxury, good company and a bit of adventure are your thing then head to Mara Timbo , you won't regret it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mara Timbo Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Timbo Camp

Address: Masai Mara, Triangle | near Olololo-Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic camp under German Management ideally situated on Mara River with two large hippo families in front of only 7 spacious 45sqm luxury tents. They are situated on big terraces and offer outside bathtubs with view to the wild animals. A personal Butler Service pays very much attention to the maximum of privacy. Tent-facilities include king-size bed, safe, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, flush toilet, 220/240volt power supply. Activities: Game Drives, Nature Walk, Maasai Village, Balloon Safaris, Night Game Drives. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Timbo Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Timbo Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Timbo Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.