We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bush excursion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Leisure Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Leisure Camp
C14, Keekorok, Kenya (Talek River, (Masai Mara Reserve) | PO Box 17545 Enterprice Rd, Maasai Mara National Reserve 254, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bush excursion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed the bush excursions! It's a thrill to know that the jungle is just outside. The hotel was a bit of a drive from Nairobi but when we got there the warm welcome and lovely dinner was pleasant! I now know why Kenyans are known for tourism! It's a great get away for a day or so. Though I do enjoy city life more.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    39
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
31
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights in Feb. The occupancy was very low, and the hotel was carrying out some maintenance, which was good to see, but made the atmosphere a bit quiet. But we nly used it as a base for game drives, for which it was good. The food was good, and the service excellent

Room Tip: jumbo 3 with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Traveled to Kenya from Indiana in August 2009 with 27 other missionary minded Christians...half of the group stayed in the urban slum area of Nairobi, and the other lot of us stayed in the Maasai Mara area to bring clean water/medical needs to the tribal villages....of course, being on a missionary trip, you never know what has been arranged for housing/food. If I had known that I would be staying at the MARA LEISURE CAMP...I would have come sooner than 2009. First of all, we were greeted warmly by the drivers who met us at the airstrip, after a short plane ride from Nairobi...very attentive and friendly. We basically got SAFARI trip along the route to the camp...saw leopard being treed by some lions...once we got to the camp, the staff carried our luggage to our separate tents...now, these are no ordinary tents...FULL DELUXE tents with separate beds, dressers,and bathrooms complete with showers...DELUXE!! (Now mind you...the showers often times ran with cold water...but remember you are on a safari here...not downtown CHICAGO or Los Angeles...to me, as a missionary,..I was delighted) the food...?? Again, I was blown away...DELUXE..and all you cared to eat..buffet style...NO COMPLAINTS...they even had milk for me (my favorite)!! My favorite server was JOSEPH (who still works there today...ask for him by name..he is a "friend" of mine) ...OUTSTANDING SERVICE...Brian was also one of my favorite servers...and TINA at the front desk also was impressive. I just learned that Joseph and Tina have wed since I last saw them..Congratulations!! What a team they will make!! I can hardly wait until I will be able to go back and visit with all of my Mara friends again..this time I will be taking my whole family!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Delhi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We sayed in this Camp recently for three nights. Though located outside the reserve, but givs a complete feeling of mara reserve. Excellent tented accomodation with all facilities. Very good service. Good food. Oveall very good experience.

Room Tip: Closer to reception is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Thank Mara Leisure Camp for looking after us so well. We are a family of 4, with two teenage boys and everyone enjoyed their stay. Staff are very helpful and accomadation impressive. We would recommend this lodge!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar-sur-le-Loup, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This camp is set on the river bank facing the Masai Mara, and is unique! The tents are luxurious and spacious, the food is exquisite, and the staff are absolutely wonderful. Truly a place of leisure and relaxation, on the door-step of the legendary Masai Mara.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed with a family of 2 adults and 2 kids. At first they put us in a Jumbo tent, that is spacious enough. They added an extra bed for 1 of our children, but had no facilities to attach a musquito net for that bed. But they solved this by giving us an extra tent, although that meant we had to split ourselves up.
The bathrooms were very dated.
Food was acceptable but nothing more. Indian oriented so not child friendly. And for sure not in abundance. Choices were very limited.
When we wanted to go for the Happy hour drink (25% discount on the drinks), they informed us it was not valid on that day...so we needed a few discussions at the reception desk, and obtained it finally.
The entrance of the national park is very near, so that is a +.
As mentioned in an other review, unfortunately we were NOT accompanied by security staff to our tents everytime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mara Leisure Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Leisure Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Kenya (Talek River, (Masai Mara Reserve) | PO Box 17545 Enterprice Rd, Maasai Mara National Reserve 254, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Leisure, a Luxury Tented Camp nestled in the Maasai Mara Game Reserve. The camp is situated on the northern border of the game reserve and this makes all areas of the park accessible for game viewing. Our accommodation facilities include 1 exclusive honeymoon tent, 8 spacious jumbo tents, 17 standard “nyati” tents and 3 family “jamii” cottages. With these, all social groups are adequately catered for. You will have the chance to meet the local Maasai community. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Leisure Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Leisure Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Leisure Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mara Leisure Camp to your Saves list