We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geez, in a good way..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara West

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara West
C12 Keekorok, Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Geez, in a good way..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Fantastic piece of earth and an wonderful and inviting quality of relaxation to this place. I felt like I was taken to a higher realm of life there - more aesthetic, peaceful, and contemplative than what I usually ever have!
Thanks guys

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    8
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
14
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were very well taken care of and enjoyed the atmosphere immensely! I would definitely recommend to family or friends. The price was reasonable, the food was great, and the location had breathtaking views of the plains and animals.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at the Mara West during our excursion to the Mara. The camp is located just outside the western edge of the park, lying atop the mountains. Not surprisingly, the views from there are amazing. The lodgings feature luxury tents that are spacious and comfortable. The camp is not enclosed and game animals will graze around your tent during the night. For example, a group of elephants greeted us one night and a herd of zebras during another. Because of this, you have to be escorted around the camp during the night (John, the escort, is a very funny and pleasant guy). The staff is excellent, everyone is very flexible and accommodating, ensuring that you're as comfortable as possible. The food is also very good. The meals are more western themed and the soups are excellent. There is no wifi on the grounds. However, we were told that wifi was to be installed soon (currently you can use their plug in modem). In conclusion, the Mara West offered a significantly different experience from my previous travels to Maasai Mara. However, the Mara West was undoubtedly just as enjoyable. If I am able to return to the mara, the Mara West will be atop my lodging list. If you're considering the Mara West, know that it's an excellent place and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The lodgings directly over the cliff offer an excellent view of the Mara, allowing you to see miles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace G, Marketing at Mara West, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hello Sam C,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay.

We are always delighted to hear positive remarks.

We want to offer our guests an outstanding experience. That said, it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the serene location of Mara West and that the staff was friendly and helpful.
We are also happy that you appreciate the meals offered and the animals roaming around Camp.

It will be a delight to have you stay with us the next time you are in the Masai Mara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at Mara West this past August and had an incredible safari experience.

The Good:
1. The lodging — luxury cabins are beautiful and very spacious / comfortable
2. Jambo John — our tour guide was very informative, fun, and professional
3. Staff / food — Chefs were incredible friendly, and I loved the daily soup
4. The safari — We saw the wildebeest crossing … an incredible thing to witness

The Bad (only one)
1. Credit card payment — The owner, an American, tried to overcharge us by having my brother-in-law pay for both the camp's international fee and his own international fee. When we initially inquired about paying by card, the camp never mentioned that it would charge us more than the invoice. The owner tried to tell us that it was “customary” in Kenya, which is a complete lie. We were with a Kenyan who has been in the hospitality industry for decades and confirmed it is not customary.

Btw - The road is not in poor condition, and it's worth the drive for the beautiful view.

Room Tip: Definitely choose the luxury cabins -- they are worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace G, Marketing at Mara West, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hello DanaHoff,

Thank you for taking the time to review our camp.

We endeavor to create a wonderful experience for our guests. All payments made by card at camp or at our head office accrue a 5% surcharge. The 5% surcharge is allocated by the banking systems in Kenya. It is important that our guests receive the proper information before they arrive at camp, and we apologize that that wasn't the case.

We are glad to hear that despite the downside of your stay, you had an incredible stay and that you enjoyed your safari.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better the next time you are in the Mara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I recently took my first trip to Kenya. I was a little intimidated knowing I would be staying in a tent. Little did I know that this was much more than a "tent". We stayed in one of the high end tents, it was fantastic! We woke up to an amazing sunrise each morning over the Mara, had a great view of a storm coming in and loved the sounds of the birds in the trees.

The staff here is also amazing. I can't say enough good things about them! Rose made us feel at home from the moment we got to Mara West. It was such a pleasure to meet Andy and Francis and their hospitality was above and beyond.

We also went on a few game drives with our driver, John. He was fantastic! He knew where all the animals were and got just as excited as we did when we saw a leopard.

This trip far exceeded any expectations I had, I will definitely be coming back to Kenya and I will be staying at Mara West for sure.

Room Tip: The luxury tents have the best views but all of the tents are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaraWest, Marketing at Mara West, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hello CarrieRR,

Thank you for choosing Mara West for your stay!

We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us.

We hope to host you the next time you are in the Mara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My family stayed here for a week in the end of June. My wife and I stayed in the high end cottage while the kids stayed with their friends in the more basic tents, both of which were pleasant and accomodating. Our high end cottage was very well appointed, beyond what we were expecting, and we were quite pleased. Units were naturally ventilated and in June, the climate was very pleasant both during the daytime and nighttime. Electricity is limited to certain hours of the day and night so you have to plan ahead if you need to charge your electronics. Every morning, a gentlemen came by to light a fire which heated the water by which we took our showers. A Maasai guard with a long spear was available each night to escort you to other parts of the camp when necessary. We felt pampered and secure.

We had breakfast and dinner and somtimes lunch in the main dining hall which was large, nicely furnished and provided a pleasant atmosphere. The food was well prepared and was good overall although options were limited. Breakfast was the best meal of the day.

Ultimately, you come to the Mara to see the wildlife and we were not disappointed. Zebras, giraffe and many others roamed freely through the camp. At night, you could hear the lions grunting nearby which added to the sense of adventure. We went of safari on three occasions led by a personable local Maasai guide named John and saw just about everything we hoped to see except for the elusive leopard. We were there before the migration was in full force and so we missed the experience of seeing the million+ wildebeest migrating from the Serengeti plains.

We interacted with the local Maasai people on a variety of occasions as we were part of a group that provided free health care to their people. We found them to be kind and friendly, especially the kids. We were met with a friendly wave from just about everyone as we drove through the villages. We felt obligated to wave back which could get physically tiring although it was a pleasant problem to have. The whole experience was a wonderful adventure, one that we would happily repeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaraWest, Marketing at Mara West, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hello romazicon,

Thank you for choosing Mara West.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us.

Send our regards to your wife and family, and we hope you will come back again for another adventure of a lifetime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Mara West shines with outstanding people, lovely tented rooms overlooking the countryside and surprisingly good (made from scratch) food. No nightlife but you are usually weary from safari and balloon outings anyway. Also, no fences so roaming zebra will greet you at 7am (don't worry - the friendly Maasai warrior sentry escorts you from dinner). Close to the local Maasai village (tour $$) and all areas of the Maasai Mara park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace G, Marketing at Mara West, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hello NYAdventurers2011,

Thank you for taking time to give us such a positive review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope you will stay with us the next time you are in the Masai Mara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mara West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara West

Also Known As:
Mara West Hotel
Mara West Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara West Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve
Address: C12 Keekorok, Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against a wooded thicket and surrounded by savannah, Mara West provides nature lovers with luxury accommodations while experiencing the sights and sounds of an unforgettable African safari. Luxury tents are perched in secluded spots on an escarpment edge overlooking the vast plains of the Masai Mara Game Reserve giving tremendous views and a sense of private exclusion. Mara West is an American owned and managed private safari camp providing high quality service with beautifully designed, comfortable accommodations. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mara West to your Saves list