We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option in Shela” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stopover Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lamu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stopover Guest House
Save
You added Stopover Guest House to your Saves list
Shela Harbour, Lamu Island, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 28 Lamu Island B&B and Inns
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great option in Shela”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Loved our two-night, three-day stay here. We stayed on the third floor and, as there were no other guests on that floor, we had the entire beautiful, clean sparkling balcony with incredible ocean views all to ourselves. It was very hot this time of year but we were able to sleep out on the balcony on a very comfortable daybed, where a cooling breeze blew all night long. Breeze kept the mosquitos away, and the fresh juices, flowers and meals kept us happy. Nice, airy rooms; lovely, clean bathrooms; and really topnotch location in Shela, away from the heat and chaos of Lamu Town and close to Peponi's Restaurant (where you'll have to go for your sundowners, as this hotel is muslim owned and therefore dry). The staff was great, our only complaint was that the manager tried very hard and persistently to sell us a fairly overpriced boat tour that we didn't reall want to do, and he was not into negotiating until he realized that we were just not going to go. We never did take the trip, so can't say whether it would have been worth the high price or not, but were able to find another dhow trip out of Lamu Town that was very enjoyable, if on a very old boat...

Room Tip: Top two floors (3rd and 4th) are optimal for rooms, ocean views, and breeze. Try to get one all to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
13
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco ca
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stopover is a very pleasant, moderately priced guesthouse but is seriously in need of a manager. Our reservation was not honored, and we were shunted to a different hotel. The owner was not honest with us about what had happened. I learned that this was not an unusual situation. So, yes, it's a nice place, with a good restaurant, but since the owner has been managing it, it just hasn't been reliable about pre-booking. Our advice: just show up and try to get a room. Otherwise, pre-book somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Spent the night of 12 June 2011 at the Stopover Guest House which was the ideal end to our time on Lamu island after two nights in Lamu Town. After the 35-minute walk to Shela from Lamu we reached Stopover Guest House and didn't need to look further for a place to stay. The staff member said the rooms were KES4,000 per night but we said we wanted to spend KES2,500. Agreed on KES3,000 in total for a double room with breakfast included. We stayed on the first floor. Rooms on the second and top floors were at least KES4,500. Our room had a private bathroom and sea view out of two windows. No fridge in the room but there's a large fridge and good kitchen area for communal use. The sea was almost under our balcony at high tide. Dinner and non-alcoholic drinks are available from the restaurant downstairs. We had dinner and breakfast on our balcony. Shela Beach is about 15 minutes walk away via the waterfront or alleyways of Shela Village. Highly recommended and would stay at Stopover again when back in Shela.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

I checked-in at Stop Over Guest House on the 28th of March until the 1st of April and i was in total paradise.Was met at Manda Airstrip and shown to the boat which whisked me to the Shela and was met by a very charming mzee Swalihina who explained and showed me everything.Enjoyed a glass of cold passion-fruit juice before i settled down.While at Stop Over,i had breakfast every morning in the restaurant and also indulged in dinner,too.Since i was in Shela,i felt that i should try Swahili food(biryani and pilau)which was spectacular!! Mzee Swalihina made sure i visited Lamu town well and also arranged a fishing trip with a very knowledgable nahodha(captain) and his son.I will return and stay for a longer time soon.The entire staff were very nice indeed although i didn't meet mzee Hamid since he was away visiting family in Mombasa.

Room Tip: Clean,comfortable,close to splendid Shela Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Just returned from my third New Year's Eve in a row staying at Stopover in Shela, and happy to report it's going from strength to strength. They've repainted all the rooms and public areas, fixed the fridge (it now makes ice...!), and in the process not lost any of the charm. The location is hard to beat, right on the waterfront overlooking the channel, five minutes walk from the beach. You can order food from the restaurant on the ground floor, which has a pretty extensive menu - ginger crab or jumbo prawns were favourites in my group (we were 11 and hired all six rooms).

They've also now built a beautiful pentouse suite on the top floor, with two double beds and its own private (enormous) terrace. Highly recommend that, even if its a couple of thousand shillings more per night.

There are still some quibbles over the speed of service - if you order from the restaurant downstairs and busy times, it can take a very long time for your food to arrive. But, hey, this is Lamu, there's no hurry (and if there is, just be sure to chase your order if it's taking long).

Aside from that, can't recommend it high enough. Prices have risen slightly (about 50 to 80 euros a night B+B for a room), but it's still the best mid-priced option in Shela, or even all of Lamu, I'd say.

Best points? The huge airy rooms, the day beds on the terraces, the cool breeze, the food, the location, the staff, the price/value.

Mike Pflanz
East Africa Correspondent
The Daily Telegraph (UK)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Honestly, I did not stayed there, but dined every day!
The food, waiters, cook, kitchen, prices, service, assortment of seafood - all are the best I've been across Kenya, even comparing to expensive ones in Nairobi! Really!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Nice little guesthouse which offers everything you need for excellent value. Very recommendable is the restaurant which serves simple and incredible tasty food.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stopover Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stopover Guest House

Address: Shela Harbour, Lamu Island, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Stopover Guest House Hotel Lamu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stopover Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.