We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jannat House

Save Saved
You added Jannat House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jannat House
Mkomani | 195, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Lamu Island
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We found this hotel exceptionally welcoming and friendly. The room was excellent and the evening meals superb. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel completely relaxed and comfortable. The terraces are a wonderful place to spend an evening relaxing. Would stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
11
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I had the good fortune of spending 4 nights at the Jannat House in March, and it was honestly an idyllic experience. Having visited a number of hotels and guest houses in Lamu, I can say with confidence that this is amongst the best and most reasonably priced options. The unique tree-house like terraces provide a stunning view of the town-scape and the Indian ocean. Service was excellent and very friendly. Johnny is a superb, welcoming, and highly resourceful host who introduced us to Lamu and helped us organize memorable experiences and excursions in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We came in the low season and found Jannat House a well-priced B&B ($60 for an ensuite double, I think). We were there with three friends, and had the place to ourselves for three or four nights. The only real downside was the breakfasts, which were not very interesting or tasty. The rest of the food on offer was tasty and well-priced, however, and we had dinner up on the roof one night. The building is tall, so the views are great. A fast wifi connection in the house is a bonus, and there were couches and daybeds on little terraces all over which we made good use of. The bathroom was pretty small, but everything was clean and comfortable and the bedroom very cute. I think we got what we paid for, with the outdoor space and pool a nice bonus. Owner/manager Johnny (from Norway) is a doctor, which might come in handy if you get sick. Airport transportation can be arranged but is not included in the price. 5min walk from the jetty, but they will meet you there and carry your bags. I'm not sure why TA is asking me to rate the fitness centre, since there certainly wasn't one there when we visited.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the mosque. If you don't want to wake up very early, make sure you ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

An excellent choice of hotel when staying in Lamu Town. An oasis with terraces and greenery. We have lived here for over 2 weeks and it felt very familiar. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

A great architectonically interesting house in the middle of the maze of Lamu town. Different size rooms that are nicely decorated but starting to be little shabby. Everything is slightly damp and doesn´t smell realy 100% nice. But all the terrases all over the house are wonderfull. You can sit and relax in plenty of places. The pool is nice. There is a bar with probably the best beer prices in town. Food is ok, but nothing to write home about. They realy destroyed my lobster and crab. Who on earths serves crab with boiled potatoes and soft fried onion and mixes the crab meat with mushrooms?? The staff that understands english is very helpfull and nice. I woul definitely stay here again and if there wasn´t anywhere else even eat the food. Though I don´t know if I can recomend it to honeymoon couples becouse of the knirky beds.

Room Tip: Tunu room has the best relax area and can be converted to connecting suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murchison, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We chose Jannat House on the basis of recommendations at Trip Advisor and were not disappointed at all. We stayed for five nights at US$60 per night in late June 2011 and it was hard to leave.

Elizabeth and Johnny were the most friendly and attentive hosts who made our stay a memorable experience. We neglected to tell them how we were arriving (by bus/ferry) and so their staff crossed twice to Manda Airport to meet flights. They also accompanied us to Manda when we left.

Jannat House is architecturally interesting with open-air lounges, courtyards and roof top balconies with views over Lamu Town to the water. The pool was the central focus and was cleaned every morning that we were there. We ate breakfast and several dinners and were delighted with the meals and the staff. Meal prices compared favourably with other menus we saw in Lamu. Our room was spacious, clean and charmingly presented. All of the staff from the cleaners to the owners took an obvious pride in their establishment.

Johnny was a mine of information and advice about Lamu. We shared a trip by dhow with him and another two guests which made a very affordable full day's entertainment.

We also walked to Shela Beach twice. We enjoyed the contrasts of Lamu and Shela and the sights along the way.

Thank you Elizabeth and Johnny .

Room Tip: We stayed in Jaribu (with ensuite) which we would choose again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We reached the Jannat house in August 2011; their personnel came to pick up us at the airport and they brought us at the hotel, carrying our luggage.

The premise is very nice, there are two buildings joined together, with nice plants, a swimming pool and many floors with different relax areas.

In the beginning they assigned us a room at the first floor but as we previously asked to our travel agency to reserve a room in the upper floors (first floor rooms have a shared bathroom while upper floor rooms have private bathroom) and they confirmed they did it, we had to ask to be moved to a better room even if the manager seemed to be not so happy about that.

As soon as we got our room, they showed us the excursion list paper; prices were incredible high and when we said that we were going to the harbor to find a better deal, we were told that their rates where very low. We discussed for at least one our for a boat excursion to Manda Island (beach in front of Shela and Takwa ruins) and we finally agreed 7000ksh for 2 people for the excursion and the lunch. While going to the harbor we discovered that due to fasting of the boat crew (ramadan period) they where not intended to cook any fish on the boat but we were supposed to have a small meal consisting in some fruit and something bought at the shop; this is not what we agreed before so we decided to eat some fruit on the boat and have a free dinner at the Jannat house. We where also told that the trip to Manda was about 90 minutes, but we finally reach the place in around 40 minutes and then we started to feel cheated, because the boat trip was so short and the price too high.

Then we came back to Jannat house and we took a shower (discovering that beside the high price of the room THERE IS NO HOT WATER and finding a dead big beetle in the bathroom).

We had a very good dinner later and after that they also charged us for the starter and the water!!! So basically in the end we paid 8200ksh for the short excursion and the dinner! As there where very few customers in the hotel maybe they tried to ask us as much money as possible.

In the following days the managers where continuously asking us about having lunch and dinner in Jannat house or having some more excursion, but we always preferred to give money to another people. The following day we went to the harbor and we found the same excursion at less than half price!!! (3000ksh).

The breakfast has always been good but you have to deal with hundreds of flies on your dishes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jannat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jannat House

Address: Mkomani | 195, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the place to stay in lamu. jannat house is situated a short work from the main street and the lamu waterfront.jannat house combined the unique elegance of traditional swahili architecture with modern comfort and friendly hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Jannat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jannat House Hotel Lamu Island
Jannat Hotel Lamu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jannat House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.