We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with the best local experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baytil Ajaib

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lamu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baytil Ajaib
Save
You added Baytil Ajaib to your Saves list
Lamu Town, Lamu Island, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Beautiful hotel with the best local experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Malik (the owner of the hotel) gave us an unforgettable experience in Lamu. The hotel itself is a beautiful, restored Swahili house. The rooms are decorated immaculately with antique furniture and are exceptionally clean. And Malik is a great host who caters to every guest's needs and will even take you around town. If you want an very intimate, local experience I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Lamu island offers nice restaurants and beaches, but the real attraction is the history and culture of this World Heritage Site. My apartment was painstakingly restored, beautifully furnished and exceedingly comfortable. Malik is a wealth of information and great fun. I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and enjoyed to the maximum. Malik and Norbert are wonderful hosts. We had an amazing room with wonderful terrace. The food, service, breakfast and the company was great.

Thank you Malik for making our stay so lovely and memorable. You made our Lamu stay unforgettable.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

THE BEST PLACE TO STAY.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callaway, Minnesota
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I spent 9 fantastic days at Baytil Ajayib and it was truly magical. Malik was such a wonderful host always making sure all expectations were met and often exceeded. The location was perfect, just a short little walk from the waterfront thru the intriguing walkways in the old town of Lamu. No cars, buses, or taxis and only the braying of donkeys or the call to Prayer at the many mosques were the sounds of the village.
The old house was so tastefully decorated with care and love, and it was fun to have Malik recap the hard work that went into creating this wonderful house, almost one that could have time traveled back from days of the Arabian Nights. The furnishings were all so authentic and honest, and Malik had many books scattered about recapping the history of the architecture of the area was well as discussing the antiques that made it such a living museum.
His staff were always on, smiling and willing to help as needed, and the Maasi askari at night guarding the front gate gave an aura of safety. Never once did I feel in the least at risk as to personal well being.
The locals were very proud of their village and were always asking if you needed help and how you liked Lamu. It was a hard place not to like.
I cannot say enough nice things about this B and B. It is something you will have to experience yourself.
Thanks again Malik for such a wonderful visit.


Jim from Minnesota

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This B&B is a large, renovated, traditional Lamu home with four separate apartments - each with its own outdoor sitting areas and day beds. Very private and furnished with rich mahogany antiques, fantastic limestone etchings, and handmade carpets, it feels like a trip back in time. The ocean breeze cools the rooms wonderfully and in the evening it is lovely to hear the gentle call to prayer lift across Lamu. This place is a treasure. The owner is an American who has become a noted authority on traditional Lamuan architecture and culture. He was a joy and spent a great deal of time with us, sharing his knowledge and passion for the island. I can’t recommend Baytil Ajaib more highly. After spending afternoons on the beach, sailing, and strolling around the markets, the hotel was a luxurious setting in which to read, play bat gammon, and take naps.

Room Tip: If the call to prayer might disturb you in the morning, ask for a lower floor or the east side. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

i stayed in Baytil Ajayib with my love and it was soo lovely! Malik was a wonderful host. the place is like straight out of an Arabian movie . staying with malik you get the all the stories and history of Lamu. our last night Malik made us the lamu drink of choice called Dawa in swahili meaning medicine made of vodka,lemon juice and honey frozen very yummy. Lamu is very safe you can walk around with your camera or phones and the locals are friendly. i will recommend it to anyone and we are definitely going back!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

It was a perfect ending for me and my sister after a long safari trip to stay at Baytil Ajaib. I knew I was going to have a great time at the place the minute I walked into this beautiful house, and I did. Malik is a wonderful host that anyone could have asked for, every night we would go up to the rooftop with a bottle of wine and chat the night away. As many others, Malik took me and my sister around town, took us to lunch on the beach and chilled at his best friend's coffee shop. I am definitely going back there, and this time....will stay longerrrrrrrrrrrrr.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Baytil Ajaib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baytil Ajaib

Address: Lamu Town, Lamu Island, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baytil Ajaib was restored for the sole purpose of preserving what's left of the true Swahili architecture and offering the client a climps into the wonderful and secretive life that prevailed.Artifacts and antiques that help forge the Swahili Culture have been collected to authenicate the archtectural beauty that dominates this structure with only the necessary hints of modernisation for present day convience. Baytil Ajaib is solely for the discerning traveller!!! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baytil Ajaib, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.