We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kizingo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kizingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kizingo to your Saves list
Kizingo
P.O. Box 138, Lamu Island, Kenya   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Kizingo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My family and I had just been on a trip to the Amu Ranch. After a long and early morning, by late afternoon, we were ready for a relaxed quiet meal. We were warmly received by the wonderful proprietor Dion. The cool drinks we were met with quenched our dry throats and settled our safari shaken bodies.

Kizingo is so thoughtfully decorated with lovely traditional Lamu furniture, fixtures and fittings with some welcome modern twists. We spent time chatting with Dion before being led to our table where a lovely swahili meal was served.

After lunch we relaxed with coffees, teas, cool drinks and deserts. The breeze coming through the open dining area was beautiful. We were luckily able to take a tour around one of the unoccupied guest cabins. Lovely open rooms with the typical Lamu beds and swinging seats with cushions that I remember from my childhood.

All too soon our stop over was over. Our boat had arrived to take us back to Lamu town. We said our goodbyes making promises to go back. And go back we will.

There were several couples on honeymoon, vacationing or stopping over for the day. Very romantic. Very family friendly. I'd recommend Kizingo to anyone who wants to chill out. Its the kind of place that writers go to be creative. An ambiance to remember.

Thank you to the staff, Dion and our host on that day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
44
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just back from our second trip to Kizingo and we wonder why it has taken us 6 years to return. It was as we remembered it, picture perfect, warm, friendly, private and stunningly beautiful. On top of that the staff are wonderful company when YOU want it and perfectly discreet when you want privacy. The food is delicious and portion side is perfect too. Can't think of ANYTHING that wasn't wonderful ... unless you don't like remote, getaway desert Islands?

Room Tip: I think they are all great - far enough away from each other, all ocean front ... but we had Banda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Kizingo is our favourite bit of beach in all of Kenya: and this little lodge is such a gem. It has every comfort you could want or need but is not pretentious or over-priced, it just does what it does extremely well: blue seas, warm white sand, unadulterated nature, peace and quiet. If you can get yourself off your hanging bed (which I generally can't) swimming with dolphins, snorkelling, waterskiing, fishing are all available. The Van Aardt family and cheerful staff make this a really warm, special place. Been several times now and can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My third but most definitely not my last visit to Kizingo was full of amazing experiences as always, the van Aardt family and their fantastic staff provide luxury and relaxation in equal measures. Food is always superb and all my son's veggie needs were catered for perfectly. The beach is as beautiful as ever and I challenge anyone to find a more beautiful beach. Far from being frightened of a so called threat of pirates I had nothing but calm and peace at Kizingo. If you visit you will realise just how absurdly impossible it would be for any intruder to get close to the bandas. This time I stayed in Banda 8, which experienced visitors will know is set back from the beach. I thought that I would miss the sea and beach sights but the view was stunning and the Banda is fit perfectly for families as it has two interconnecting rooms. Don't miss the chance to swim with dolphins it changed my perception on the world forever, and that's from an old cynic. To sum up, just go!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have just spent 7 wonderful days at Kizingo - our 5th visit. We couldn't go last year because of the so called threat from pirates - don't believe it! There is no threat, no problems apart from the fact that the island and beaches are empty of tourists. Now is an ideal time to visit as it is so quiet and unspoilt that you really feel you are in paradise. The staff are as friendly as ever, even though their numbers are a bit depleted due to lack of visitors but it really is an amazing place to relax - not to mention the wild dolphins and Lamu town.

Room Tip: All the bandas are private - they are all the same size, they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This place captures the essence of the true beachfront hideaway. The bandas/beach huts are big and well furnished without compromising the African coastal atmosphere. The central bar and restaurant, situated in a huge palm and wood building, provide the perfect place to congregate with the owners and other guests and to sip the home spun cocktails. The food is flawless and varied in cuisine, with an understandable emphasis on fish. Efficiently run with a group of friendly and excellent staff. Well worth the flights and boat ride to get to.

Stayed in January 2013 for 5 nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We first went to Kizingo in 2006 and have been back twice since then. We took 4 friends in 2008 and they loved it too. The food is excellent, the accommodation bandas superb and the relaxed atmosphere just what we want on holiday. The Van Aardt family are really welcoming and impressive in their attitude to guests. The Kenyan staff, never forgetting Alex, are superb. We would recommend it to anyone (well almost anyone; theres always someone who wants a beach holiday without the sand!).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kizingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kizingo

Address: P.O. Box 138, Lamu Island, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kizingo is the ultimate 'no news, no shoes’ beach resort - a wonderful secluded and tranquil escape from the modern world. The lodge is situated at one end of a spectacular 12-kilometre beach that stretches from Kizingo (which means 'the point’ in Swahili) to the fashionable village of Shela. Kizingo has eight beautifully appointed bandas (thatched cottages), set well apart from each other. In the early morning you can enjoy tea in bed and watch fishing dhows tack south to Malindi.Guests can be as private or as social as they wish, opting to enjoy fine dining on the balcony of their banda or join other guests in the bar and the dining room with their magnficent views across the bay to mainland Kenya where giant baobab trees spread into the brilliant blue sky.Kizingo is owned and run by the van Aardt family, who were all born in Africa. Due to their long and close relationship with the local village, its chief leased them this stunning beachfront land to build a small resort that is both eco-friendly and very comfortable. Like all the best resorts in Kenya, Kizingo has a symbiotic relationship with the local village, an hour away on foot, and with farmers on the mainland who grow food and make furniture for the lodge.The swimming is excellent, both in the Indian Ocean and in the calm waters of the channel that separates Lamu from the mainland. For the more energetic there is a big choice of activities including a guided tour of historic Lamu Town, excellent snorkelling, the chance to swim with dolphins in the winter months and cycle rides to friendly African villages on the mainland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kizingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kizingo Hotel Lamu Island
Kizingo Resort Lamu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kizingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.