We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great! I'll come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peponi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lamu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peponi Hotel
Save
You added Peponi Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just great! I'll come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

I cannot believe that one of the reviewers can qualify this hotel as "bad"??? Did he really visited the same hotel? This hotel is so unique and charming and has the best cuisine in Africa I ever tasted! Not only the seafood is great (especially the dressed crab: huge portion for a unbelievable interesting price - compared to European prices) but everything we ordered was just great. We had a wonderful room with splendid view (the ocean just in front and at the backside of the room: the village). If you prefer a charming small hotel with excellent service to the big tourist hotels at the Kenyan coast, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liliLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

This restaurant / bar has a monopoly on the island and because of this they do not try. The food here was the worst I have had in Africa and probably the most expensive. Chicken (crumby & dry) and mashed potatoes (fishy which I have an allergic reaction to) sounds easy but they made a pigs ear out of it. The service was clunky and the staff were surly and unresponsive due mainly to the fact that the owner doesn't trust them to handle money so easy transactions become drawn out affairs.

The bread here was delicious as were the samosas but certainly not worth it for the money spent.

I very rarely review in this manner. I feel obliged to warn others that are planning on proposing here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bemee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

From the moment we arrived, we were loved and welcomed at the beautiful Hotel. I will be recommending this to everyone traveling to kenya/lamu.

Absolutely astounded by the super friendly staff, I feel like I've known them for years from how caring they were. Waited on hand and foot! Brilliant brilliant! Nothing bad to say about the whole experience. They organized guides and tours around the towns and snorkeling gear was on hand without even asking. Too many great things to compliment.

Here's some pictures on my blog! Best time of my life. Absolutely great!
http://robahern.com.au/blog/?p=287

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertAhern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

The location of hotel, ambience etc superb
managemnet and staff friendly and very accomodating
food good
lots of excursiosn if required and also quiet if required
best place in lamu

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naughtyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

we went for the 3th time to Lamu/Shela and it was, again, magical. Peponi is the best place to stay, the rooms are beautiful, staff is very helpfull and the food is the best I had for a long time!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

I can totally recommend Peponi!!! We had booked into a house in Shela via the internet that turned out to be in a dreaful location full of mosquitos and with no railings on the 3rd floor.. totally unsuitable for our 4 year old.. hmm another story.. so moved to Peponi. It really is a haven! The location on the waterfront is so so stunning and it saved what had begun to look like a nightmare holiday. The staff were great and the management lead by Carol really work so diligently and with such charm to welcome and talk with all the guests to ensure a great holiday. Our children were so wonderfully welcomed and looked after .. from extra goggles.. to beach toys.. boogie boards.. and even some extra books from our 11 year old to read. Nothing was too much of a problem. The food really is something else.. you want to order everything on the menu.. and after a week I can safely say every single meal was a treat! I'm still dreaming of those breakfasts!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwala2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

as you approach the hotel by boat, you start to leave the 20th century benind you. Andrew welcomed us with a drink on the veranda overlooking the sea. He went to check our room was ok - it was more than ok - it was perfect especially the double bed hammock on one of our terraces. The hotel is full of charm, all the staff were always smiling, and helpful. ~The food was excellent, the thought of the wonderful locally caught prawn dishes and crab dish off the bone still make my mouth water.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chellG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.6 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#3 of 11 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#7 of 11 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#6 of 11 in Lamu Island
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
0.0 mi away
Subira House
Subira House
#2 of 32 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peponi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peponi Hotel

Address: Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Peponi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Peponi Hotel Lamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing