We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Time of My Life.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peponi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lamu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peponi Hotel
Save Saved
You added Peponi Hotel to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Time of My Life.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

From the moment we arrived, we were loved and welcomed at the beautiful Hotel. I will be recommending this to everyone traveling to kenya/lamu.

Absolutely astounded by the super friendly staff, I feel like I've known them for years from how caring they were. Waited on hand and foot! Brilliant brilliant! Nothing bad to say about the whole experience. They organized guides and tours around the towns and snorkeling gear was on hand without even asking. Too many great things to compliment.

Here's some pictures on my blog! Best time of my life. Absolutely great!
http://robahern.com.au/blog/?p=287

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    26
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
27
75
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

The location of hotel, ambience etc superb
managemnet and staff friendly and very accomodating
food good
lots of excursiosn if required and also quiet if required
best place in lamu

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

we went for the 3th time to Lamu/Shela and it was, again, magical. Peponi is the best place to stay, the rooms are beautiful, staff is very helpfull and the food is the best I had for a long time!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

I can totally recommend Peponi!!! We had booked into a house in Shela via the internet that turned out to be in a dreaful location full of mosquitos and with no railings on the 3rd floor.. totally unsuitable for our 4 year old.. hmm another story.. so moved to Peponi. It really is a haven! The location on the waterfront is so so stunning and it saved what had begun to look like a nightmare holiday. The staff were great and the management lead by Carol really work so diligently and with such charm to welcome and talk with all the guests to ensure a great holiday. Our children were so wonderfully welcomed and looked after .. from extra goggles.. to beach toys.. boogie boards.. and even some extra books from our 11 year old to read. Nothing was too much of a problem. The food really is something else.. you want to order everything on the menu.. and after a week I can safely say every single meal was a treat! I'm still dreaming of those breakfasts!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

as you approach the hotel by boat, you start to leave the 20th century benind you. Andrew welcomed us with a drink on the veranda overlooking the sea. He went to check our room was ok - it was more than ok - it was perfect especially the double bed hammock on one of our terraces. The hotel is full of charm, all the staff were always smiling, and helpful. ~The food was excellent, the thought of the wonderful locally caught prawn dishes and crab dish off the bone still make my mouth water.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed at The Peponi, Lamu, Kenya, at the end of a one week safari. The only braying we heard (see previous reviews) was from the donkeys, with a little snuffling from Marco Polo and Ehtu, the resident camels. We had a fantastic time in Room Top. The location is perfect, with a sparkling sea just beyond the terrace/restaurant and 13k of clean, soft, golden sand if you turn left on leaving the hotel. The hotel dhow transfers guests to and from the airstrip at Manda. It also runs daily to Lamu town where Abdul will arrange a local guide for 1000 Kenyan Shillings. This is well worth a trip, as is Shella Village where the Peponi is based.

The bar is great fun and food in the restaurant is excellent, especially the Swahili menu and the sushi. Drinks are not particularly expensive by London standards.

There are lots of trips and activities that are worth doing. We enjoyed the dhow sunset cruise and camel riding on the beach. The latter activity is particularly recommended. Marco Polo and Ehtu are very friendly, and rounding off a safari trip with a little bit of animal magic made our holiday perfect.

Many thanks to Lars, Carol, Andrew and the team for a wonderful stay. We are missing you already.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Most people who truly understand travel will appreciate The Peponi and understand that one doesn't need perfection in order to ooze style and charm. Would that there were not more hotels such as this. Amusing to see the postings by sad slighted people whose objectivity was clearly guided by their own bruised ego. Pathetic. When one looks at many of the postings on sites like this, one is reminded of the maxim about the vain beiief in the collective wisdom of individual ignorance. Don't change a thing, the world needs more hotels like this and if they have to cost a little more. so be it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peponi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peponi Hotel

Address: Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peponi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Peponi Hotel Lamu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peponi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.