We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peponi bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peponi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lamu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peponi Hotel
Save
You added Peponi Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“peponi bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

if you want the best vacation ever, go to peponi hotel in lamu, kenya. there simply is no place like it! a perfect getaway...exotic, warm, beach, sea, great food, stunning grounds, fantastic staff, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: rooms 21, 19, 22, "top", the suites. all are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddmafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bracknell
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in 2007 and have always planned to return - we were not disappointed. Very well looked after by Andrew and the staff. Beautiful rooms and grounds, excellent food and service. Enjoyed walking around Shela and a trip to Lamu town.

Room Tip: Enjoyed a superior room overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Probably the best hotel i have stayed in. Small, family run with beautiful rooms and garden/pool area. Outstanding food and excellent, friendly service. Had a wonderful trip snorkeling organised by the hotel - the guy looking after us managed to catch lobster and fish while we were swimming which he then cooked for us on one of the deserted little Islands in the area.
Looking forward to a return visit as soon as possible!
(stayed in sept 2009 but cant go back that far!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nmcquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Upon our arrival by small boat, Andrew the manager joined us on the terrace for a wonderful briefing of the hotel, its amenities and the surroundings in nearby Shella village and Lamu town. Fortified by "Old Pal" beverages a delightful alcoholic cooler, we ventured to our beautiful room for a quick refresher before venturing into the village. (The hotel's map is very basic and will not keep you from wandering aimlessly before a local latches on to you for guidance.) The beach (during low tide) provides a wonderful long walk. A morning journey on the free boat to Lamu Town is a must, but be as fortunately as we were with our guide "Chooey" who was a terrific help as we walked the narrow streets and found great shopping. Also do not miss the evening Dhou journey into the neighboring mangrove "creek." It was a great value and a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: I think the best room in the hotel is #26 which has a lovely terrace and the world's most comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeforney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Another excellent stay at Peponi ! 10 days of being totally spoilt ! Superb food, excellent service and accommodation (we love the Superior Rooms right on the beach), . Carol and Andrew were great hosts and very ably supported by the “team” – nothing was too much trouble. Trip to see the Carmine Bee-eaters was amazing and a half-day deep sea fishing trip well worth doing. Sitting on veranda outside the bar in the evenings with a ‘Dawa’ with the buzz of the bar in the background is “special”.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank journeysderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I haven't actually stayed in the Hotel but know it quite well. My son had his wedding reception there, in their beautiful garden. It was an utterly perfect location. The staff bent over backwards to make it thee most memorable night. They went to great lengths to decorate the garden to make it look like paradise. The food was without a doubt the best food I have had at a wedding, and the glasses were never empty.
Aside from all of that. The rooms are lovely and all very central with sea views. The food is out of this world. It is the perfect place to unwind and just enjoy the beauty and peace of the beach and Shela village.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend five incredible days at Peponi's after a fabulous safari. Carol, Lars, and Andrew are so very welcoming and accommodating. They arranged several sails for us on the dhows and a trip to see the turtles hatch. No words can accurately describe the beauty and peacefulness of this lovely spot. All the rooms look out on the stunning Indian Ocean, beautiful breezes night and day, the air is so clean, the cuisine (especially the crab, breads) are among the most delicious meals I have ever had. The Bar is a fantastic spot to have sundowners- especially the hotel's signature drink-The "Old Pal" among fun and interesting locals . We cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank palominogrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.6 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#3 of 11 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#7 of 11 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#6 of 11 in Lamu Island
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#4 of 11 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#1 of 11 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peponi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peponi Hotel

Address: Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Peponi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Peponi Hotel Lamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing