We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peponi bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peponi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lamu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peponi Hotel
Save Saved
You added Peponi Hotel to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Lamu Island
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“peponi bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

if you want the best vacation ever, go to peponi hotel in lamu, kenya. there simply is no place like it! a perfect getaway...exotic, warm, beach, sea, great food, stunning grounds, fantastic staff, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: rooms 21, 19, 22, "top", the suites. all are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    26
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
26
74
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in 2007 and have always planned to return - we were not disappointed. Very well looked after by Andrew and the staff. Beautiful rooms and grounds, excellent food and service. Enjoyed walking around Shela and a trip to Lamu town.

Room Tip: Enjoyed a superior room overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Probably the best hotel i have stayed in. Small, family run with beautiful rooms and garden/pool area. Outstanding food and excellent, friendly service. Had a wonderful trip snorkeling organised by the hotel - the guy looking after us managed to catch lobster and fish while we were swimming which he then cooked for us on one of the deserted little Islands in the area.
Looking forward to a return visit as soon as possible!
(stayed in sept 2009 but cant go back that far!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Upon our arrival by small boat, Andrew the manager joined us on the terrace for a wonderful briefing of the hotel, its amenities and the surroundings in nearby Shella village and Lamu town. Fortified by "Old Pal" beverages a delightful alcoholic cooler, we ventured to our beautiful room for a quick refresher before venturing into the village. (The hotel's map is very basic and will not keep you from wandering aimlessly before a local latches on to you for guidance.) The beach (during low tide) provides a wonderful long walk. A morning journey on the free boat to Lamu Town is a must, but be as fortunately as we were with our guide "Chooey" who was a terrific help as we walked the narrow streets and found great shopping. Also do not miss the evening Dhou journey into the neighboring mangrove "creek." It was a great value and a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: I think the best room in the hotel is #26 which has a lovely terrace and the world's most comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Another excellent stay at Peponi ! 10 days of being totally spoilt ! Superb food, excellent service and accommodation (we love the Superior Rooms right on the beach), . Carol and Andrew were great hosts and very ably supported by the “team” – nothing was too much trouble. Trip to see the Carmine Bee-eaters was amazing and a half-day deep sea fishing trip well worth doing. Sitting on veranda outside the bar in the evenings with a ‘Dawa’ with the buzz of the bar in the background is “special”.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I haven't actually stayed in the Hotel but know it quite well. My son had his wedding reception there, in their beautiful garden. It was an utterly perfect location. The staff bent over backwards to make it thee most memorable night. They went to great lengths to decorate the garden to make it look like paradise. The food was without a doubt the best food I have had at a wedding, and the glasses were never empty.
Aside from all of that. The rooms are lovely and all very central with sea views. The food is out of this world. It is the perfect place to unwind and just enjoy the beauty and peace of the beach and Shela village.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend five incredible days at Peponi's after a fabulous safari. Carol, Lars, and Andrew are so very welcoming and accommodating. They arranged several sails for us on the dhows and a trip to see the turtles hatch. No words can accurately describe the beauty and peacefulness of this lovely spot. All the rooms look out on the stunning Indian Ocean, beautiful breezes night and day, the air is so clean, the cuisine (especially the crab, breads) are among the most delicious meals I have ever had. The Bar is a fantastic spot to have sundowners- especially the hotel's signature drink-The "Old Pal" among fun and interesting locals . We cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peponi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peponi Hotel

Address: Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Lamu Island
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peponi Hotel 3.5*
Also Known As:
Peponi Hotel Lamu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peponi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.