We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great return visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peponi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Peponi Hotel to your Saves list
Peponi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bracknell
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in 2007 and have always planned to return - we were not disappointed. Very well looked after by Andrew and the staff. Beautiful rooms and grounds, excellent food and service. Enjoyed walking around Shela and a trip to Lamu town.

Room Tip: Enjoyed a superior room overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    26
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
80
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Probably the best hotel i have stayed in. Small, family run with beautiful rooms and garden/pool area. Outstanding food and excellent, friendly service. Had a wonderful trip snorkeling organised by the hotel - the guy looking after us managed to catch lobster and fish while we were swimming which he then cooked for us on one of the deserted little Islands in the area.
Looking forward to a return visit as soon as possible!
(stayed in sept 2009 but cant go back that far!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Upon our arrival by small boat, Andrew the manager joined us on the terrace for a wonderful briefing of the hotel, its amenities and the surroundings in nearby Shella village and Lamu town. Fortified by "Old Pal" beverages a delightful alcoholic cooler, we ventured to our beautiful room for a quick refresher before venturing into the village. (The hotel's map is very basic and will not keep you from wandering aimlessly before a local latches on to you for guidance.) The beach (during low tide) provides a wonderful long walk. A morning journey on the free boat to Lamu Town is a must, but be as fortunately as we were with our guide "Chooey" who was a terrific help as we walked the narrow streets and found great shopping. Also do not miss the evening Dhou journey into the neighboring mangrove "creek." It was a great value and a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: I think the best room in the hotel is #26 which has a lovely terrace and the world's most comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Another excellent stay at Peponi ! 10 days of being totally spoilt ! Superb food, excellent service and accommodation (we love the Superior Rooms right on the beach), . Carol and Andrew were great hosts and very ably supported by the “team” – nothing was too much trouble. Trip to see the Carmine Bee-eaters was amazing and a half-day deep sea fishing trip well worth doing. Sitting on veranda outside the bar in the evenings with a ‘Dawa’ with the buzz of the bar in the background is “special”.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I haven't actually stayed in the Hotel but know it quite well. My son had his wedding reception there, in their beautiful garden. It was an utterly perfect location. The staff bent over backwards to make it thee most memorable night. They went to great lengths to decorate the garden to make it look like paradise. The food was without a doubt the best food I have had at a wedding, and the glasses were never empty.
Aside from all of that. The rooms are lovely and all very central with sea views. The food is out of this world. It is the perfect place to unwind and just enjoy the beauty and peace of the beach and Shela village.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend five incredible days at Peponi's after a fabulous safari. Carol, Lars, and Andrew are so very welcoming and accommodating. They arranged several sails for us on the dhows and a trip to see the turtles hatch. No words can accurately describe the beauty and peacefulness of this lovely spot. All the rooms look out on the stunning Indian Ocean, beautiful breezes night and day, the air is so clean, the cuisine (especially the crab, breads) are among the most delicious meals I have ever had. The Bar is a fantastic spot to have sundowners- especially the hotel's signature drink-The "Old Pal" among fun and interesting locals . We cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here in 2007 and visited again in 2008. I dream of returning again one day! It was perfectly safe to walk around the town, on my own, at any time - even late evening. The food was amazing (Carol gave me a copy of her recipe for wonderful Mango Soup). The beds themselves are worth a mention....called Lamu beds, they are very high and you almost need ladders to climb into them. Always ornate and beautifully decorated with tiles they are definitely different! Plenty of activities can be organised through the hotel and we took a boat trip to the coral islands were we did some scuba diving. Lamu town is delightful and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peponi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peponi Hotel

Address: Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peponi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Peponi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peponi Hotel Lamu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peponi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.