We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peponi perfection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peponi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lamu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peponi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Lamu Island
Poway, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Peponi perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and bestie for two nights. They were very very accomodating. The food was delicious and they had a nice wine selection, too.
The rooms were great and had awesome mosquito nets, too.
I would stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great!! No need to book a special room, even the stadards are above standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    26
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
26
74
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We (a family of four) stayed at Peponi some years ago and had wonderful memories. This year we decided to go back there and I must admit I was apprehensive. Would the reality of the second visit live up to the memories of the first?
I am happy to say that the second visit was probably even better than the first!
Carol and Lars were away and Andrew the GM was an impeccable host. Attentive, amusing and always present, he was instrumental in making this a really wonderful week. The food had improved from our first stay - not that it was bad then but it has got even better. the crab dishes are excellent and the Swahili dinner is not to be missed. Service is friendly and efficient.
Peponi is a place where you really can dictate your own pace. You can have slothful days lying on the swinging bed on the verandah or you can go on all day activities - fishing, snorkeling, etc.
The sunset dhow cruise is a must.
We walked the long beaches every day, we saw turtles hatching, had massages, did yoga at a nearby retreat and tried delicious cocktails (Old Pal is recommended) on the very special front verandah.
We will go back again!!

Room Tip: Rooms 23/24 are right on the water's edge and the gentle swish of the waves is the most relaxing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Effortless style, service with a non-intrusive touch and sumptuous meals - puts Peponi Hotel above the rest in its class.
From airport pick-up to water-skiing and sunset sails - it's all impeccably organised. We especially liked eating seated on the floor like Pashas in The Private Dining Room.
If you're lucky your visit may coincide with a turtle hatching - Peponi Hotel owner Carole has been instrumental in setting up Lamu Marine Conservation Trust - a Responsible Tourism project - integrating local people the environment and marine ecology.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

After a week living in the bush, we felt like we were arriving in heaven when greeted by the owners at Peponi, served drinks and given our keys to our room. They were friendly, non pushy and approachable. The only drawback would be the lack of aircon in our room, but we got used to it. I loved the pool area, which had a certain 1920s Gatsby look to it, with its old architecture.
We hired a boat one day and got taken out snorkeling, fishing - and then eating the fish under a tree on a private beach. It was paradise. Also highly recommend supporting the turtle conservatory by making a visit or donation. Perhaps not recommendable for the easily scared, as we had to sit on the back of a very fast moped for 20 mins. I would come here again!

Room Tip: Ask for air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times, once as a couple, and twice with our children. Carol and Lars have created a fabulous hotel, which is still run as well as ever. The best bar on the Kenyan coast, with an amazing sociable vibe. The rooms are simple, generous and stylish. The food is outstanding (we ate the best piri-piri crab ever here). But what makes it really special is the way in which it is integrated with the local community, serving as a hub for everyone. Wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure if it is the warm smiles, the beautiful water or the amazing accommodation and food, but this place is just so very special that you feel an urgency to return every time you leave.
The Kenyan coast and the Lamu archipelago in particular is so enchanting....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had heard rave reviews about this hotel before our own visit in April. It lived up to the promise of quiet luxury and beauty. But it was the attention to detail and way our hosts went out of their way to make sure we had the best experience possible that made this hotel unique. The rooms are large and well appointed, with not one, but two sets of bathrobes (lighter and medium weight) made from local fabrics. There were special beach towels and wraps, plenty of filtered drinking water - including a thermos of chilled water. There were rain ponchos and a big umbrella if needed, and a swing bed on the veranda. They bring your morning coffee or tea to your room, at the time you designate - perfect if you want to take a dip in the ocean or walk on the beach before breakfast. The gardens are beautifully tended, filled with a wide array of exotic flowers. The pool is shaded by two big baobab trees. Our hosts, Carol and Andrew, were eager to give us information on making the best of our time - with valuable advice on how to take advantage of the tides, changing weather, or best ways to visit Lamu and Shela towns. They were also quick to make arrangements for us, whether it was organizing a guide to visit town, visit local ruins, or arrange for anything from a massage to a snorkeling expedition. The food is quite varied and refined. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peponi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peponi Hotel

Address: Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Lamu Island
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peponi Hotel 3.5*
Also Known As:
Peponi Hotel Lamu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peponi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Peponi Hotel to your Saves list