We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where do travel writers go on holiday - Peponi Hotel is one of these places.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peponi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Peponi Hotel to your Saves list
Peponi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Where do travel writers go on holiday - Peponi Hotel is one of these places.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Effortless style, service with a non-intrusive touch and sumptuous meals - puts Peponi Hotel above the rest in its class.
From airport pick-up to water-skiing and sunset sails - it's all impeccably organised. We especially liked eating seated on the floor like Pashas in The Private Dining Room.
If you're lucky your visit may coincide with a turtle hatching - Peponi Hotel owner Carole has been instrumental in setting up Lamu Marine Conservation Trust - a Responsible Tourism project - integrating local people the environment and marine ecology.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    26
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
80
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

After a week living in the bush, we felt like we were arriving in heaven when greeted by the owners at Peponi, served drinks and given our keys to our room. They were friendly, non pushy and approachable. The only drawback would be the lack of aircon in our room, but we got used to it. I loved the pool area, which had a certain 1920s Gatsby look to it, with its old architecture.
We hired a boat one day and got taken out snorkeling, fishing - and then eating the fish under a tree on a private beach. It was paradise. Also highly recommend supporting the turtle conservatory by making a visit or donation. Perhaps not recommendable for the easily scared, as we had to sit on the back of a very fast moped for 20 mins. I would come here again!

Room Tip: Ask for air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times, once as a couple, and twice with our children. Carol and Lars have created a fabulous hotel, which is still run as well as ever. The best bar on the Kenyan coast, with an amazing sociable vibe. The rooms are simple, generous and stylish. The food is outstanding (we ate the best piri-piri crab ever here). But what makes it really special is the way in which it is integrated with the local community, serving as a hub for everyone. Wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I'm not sure if it is the warm smiles, the beautiful water or the amazing accommodation and food, but this place is just so very special that you feel an urgency to return every time you leave.
The Kenyan coast and the Lamu archipelago in particular is so enchanting....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had heard rave reviews about this hotel before our own visit in April. It lived up to the promise of quiet luxury and beauty. But it was the attention to detail and way our hosts went out of their way to make sure we had the best experience possible that made this hotel unique. The rooms are large and well appointed, with not one, but two sets of bathrobes (lighter and medium weight) made from local fabrics. There were special beach towels and wraps, plenty of filtered drinking water - including a thermos of chilled water. There were rain ponchos and a big umbrella if needed, and a swing bed on the veranda. They bring your morning coffee or tea to your room, at the time you designate - perfect if you want to take a dip in the ocean or walk on the beach before breakfast. The gardens are beautifully tended, filled with a wide array of exotic flowers. The pool is shaded by two big baobab trees. Our hosts, Carol and Andrew, were eager to give us information on making the best of our time - with valuable advice on how to take advantage of the tides, changing weather, or best ways to visit Lamu and Shela towns. They were also quick to make arrangements for us, whether it was organizing a guide to visit town, visit local ruins, or arrange for anything from a massage to a snorkeling expedition. The food is quite varied and refined. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairoi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The most wonderful place on the African coast with the most welcoming guests! We go there almost every month to escape from the Nairobi hustle, it feels very private, yet in the heart of the Lamu culture - very unique in terms of architecture and vibe. I love the Peponi food and the dhow sundowners. Situated at the beginning of the most wonderful 14km beach I have been to - Shella. If I have to choose one place in Africa to always go to - it would definitely be Peponi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Peponi hotel is magical enchanting all the clichés but that is why they are called clichés because no other word can quite describe it.
You get there by road or plane. Either way you will take a Dhow and sail to Shela Island.
It is a small boutique hotel all rooms face the sea. The decor is the Lamu wood work with touches of Morocco Riad gardens and architecture.
The hotel organises everything from massages to trips to Lamu town one of Africa’s oldest where in the past Chinese and Arab seafarers visited and traded.
The hotel is special not only for hospitality but services that can be customised.
Want to eat something that is not on the menu, get a massage or have your feet painted in henna then it will all be organised.
Explore the little village at the back of the hotel and meet its wonderful inhabitants. You might get invited to a dinner on a roof top and experience Swahili cuisine at its best, from coconut rice to fried lobster.
Life is smooth calm and easy at Peponi as you relax on the restaurant terrace taking in the sunsets or go for early morning walks along the beach . So much to do in such a serene place, the most important one being resting!

Room Tip: Do ask for the superior rooms they cost more but are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peponi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peponi Hotel

Address: Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peponi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Peponi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peponi Hotel Lamu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peponi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.