We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peponi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Peponi Hotel to your Saves list
Peponi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is the second time I've gone to Lamu with my hubby. It's a very different kind of a holiday: you won't get any internet, TV, or even a phone signal, to start with. The only mode of transport on the island is to walk, or ride a donkey. Sailing is phenomenal, especially if you book a dhow sunset trip. Food at Peponi is diverse, delicate and tasty. Choice of wine, good. Home-made jams and preserves served for breakfast - just splendid. Activities: from Pink Gin to Mohitos, but you can also go for a long walk on the beach, just make sure you are back before the high tide or you'll get quite wet. The way the hotel is run makes you want to stay longer, you feel you become a part of the family. I'll go back, that's for sure.

Room Tip: New wing seems brighter and more open towards the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    26
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
32
80
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We wanted to spend a couple of days unwinding on the beach after about 10 days on safari, Lamu seemed to fit what we were looking for.

I will say that the staff is very nice and welcoming and the rooms are clean..the Arabic foot bath at your room's entrance is a nice touch.. and the chef was attentive to my food allergies.. so I can't complain there.

Just a couple of nitpicks:
- The afternoon housekeeping service wasn't exceptional. We ran out of soap and it wasn't replaced. Wastepaper basket weren't emptied.. things like that which make the difference between very good and excellent.
- If you're looking to sit on a sandy beach like in the Carribean, this isn't it. The "beach" is small and there are people going about their everyday business walking to and from on the beach and there are no beach chairs. But the veranda overlooking the beach is very nice and you can have lunch and drinks there.
- It would have been nice to have screens on the windows so you could keep them open without worrying about bugs. We wanted to enjoy the ocean breeze and no matter how much we sprayed the room and put repellant on us, we got bit more than the whole other 10 days in Kenya put together.

On the property, resort-wear is acceptable.. but due to the conservative nature of the area, once you venture outside, modest dress is expected. They do provide wraps to use during your stay.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Despite the fact there are now a couple of fairly luxurious hotels in Shella and across the channel on Manda Island, Peponi is still THE place to stay in Lamu. I have been to Peponi a number of times, and the trip we took this month was by far the best. The food, though always good, has gotten even better. Try the ginger crab and the tempura calamari - out of this world.
Though there has been some bad publicity due to the kidnapping of tourists, every effort has been made to ensure Lamu is protected. The police now have speedboats and the entrance to the channel is guarded by the Kenya Navy, making Lamu probably the safest place to visit in Kenya right now.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra to get a superior room, with private terrace and gorgeous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We camped here as we were on a Self drive safari. What a great place to stay. We were camped by the beach with a great view. Had our own little shelter with light and electricity and loungers. Nice and quiet. The pool was the cleanest pool we had been at since we started our holiday. The internet was poor but next door you could get internet. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is a delightful place to spend a few days. It isnt in Lamu town, it's in a village near a long, deserted beach. The rooms are basic but luxurious, big bed, stunning view of the gardens and lots of personal touches (including a kanga to wear for your stay). The service in the bar and restaurant is friendly and laid-back, the whole experience is about winding down and that's the pace here - it's not for people who are in a rush. Lots to see locally, or just get your book, find a hammock and chill out. Beautiful. (travelled in 2007)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east africa
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Peponis is a place you must visit if in Lamu. The owners have been there forever and the bar serves a great cocktail the 'OLD Pal' !
Food is excellent with a new chef ! The wine list could do with an upgrade and some high end wines ! Rooms are comfortable and clean with excellent views. Service is notoriously slow even when the hotel is not full so order well in advance!
Overall its a very enjoyable stay and you are sure to meet some interesting characters in the bar overlooking Manda Island and the Indian Ocean!

Room Tip: Take a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Utterly fantastic. We did think the trip through a bit before going, especially as we have younger children, but decided to go keep to our plans: we had an absolutely  superb stay. Lamu island itself is wonderful, and surprisingly hassle free, and Peponi Hotel itself was one of the best places we've ever had the pleasure of staying at. We felt safe everywhere we went. 

We were met at the airport, and taken by boat to a genuinely warm welcome. The setting is awesome, the beach magnificent and rooms just perfect. Staff knew our names, helped organise everything we wanted to do, and put no pressure on us to use more of the hotel trips than we felt comfortable with. Carol, Lars and Andrew were particularly helpful and the food was first class. 

The final icing on an already splendid cake was the new year's day dhow race - a magnificent spectacle with a real spirit of excitement. 

We know that the Uk suggests caution in travelling here, but going was hugely the right decision. I suspect you're more at risk of mishap driving to the airport than from any local trouble in Lamu.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Peponi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peponi Hotel

Address: Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peponi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Peponi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peponi Hotel Lamu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peponi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.