We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peponi's is an icon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peponi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lamu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peponi Hotel
Save
You added Peponi Hotel to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
east africa
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Peponi's is an icon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Peponis is a place you must visit if in Lamu. The owners have been there forever and the bar serves a great cocktail the 'OLD Pal' !
Food is excellent with a new chef ! The wine list could do with an upgrade and some high end wines ! Rooms are comfortable and clean with excellent views. Service is notoriously slow even when the hotel is not full so order well in advance!
Overall its a very enjoyable stay and you are sure to meet some interesting characters in the bar overlooking Manda Island and the Indian Ocean!

Room Tip: Take a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    26
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
30
76
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

Utterly fantastic. We did think the trip through a bit before going, especially as we have younger children, but decided to go keep to our plans: we had an absolutely  superb stay. Lamu island itself is wonderful, and surprisingly hassle free, and Peponi Hotel itself was one of the best places we've ever had the pleasure of staying at. We felt safe everywhere we went. 

We were met at the airport, and taken by boat to a genuinely warm welcome. The setting is awesome, the beach magnificent and rooms just perfect. Staff knew our names, helped organise everything we wanted to do, and put no pressure on us to use more of the hotel trips than we felt comfortable with. Carol, Lars and Andrew were particularly helpful and the food was first class. 

The final icing on an already splendid cake was the new year's day dhow race - a magnificent spectacle with a real spirit of excitement. 

We know that the Uk suggests caution in travelling here, but going was hugely the right decision. I suspect you're more at risk of mishap driving to the airport than from any local trouble in Lamu.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Just back from a 6 night stay at the Peponi in Lamu. It was a great experience. Things feel very safe there, and we did some great snorkelling. The hotel is idyllic. It does not leave you feeling like you are in a garrish, over-touristy hotel, but has all the comforts. It is owned by a family (second generation now running it), and while you have your privacy, it can almost feel like staying in the lavish home of a friend. The staff are exceptional: friendly and capable. The location is the best in the region, with lovely winds, a great beach and close to Shela's amenities. We arrived there with no luggage (Kenyan airways doesn't get such a positive review). The hotel worked all work with their contacts to deal with the missing luggage, and the owner even lent us clothing to get us through. They think through all the possibilities that you may need. The food is outstanding. It was really lovely.
One thing worth noting regarding the recent travel concerns in the region - Shela (and the Peponi) are really well located and the area is well patrolled: by the military, Kenyan police and private security at the hotels, etc. Surprisingly, you don't really notice it (ie you don't feel like you're in some sort of police state), but it also feels very safe.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We visited this hotel a few years ago on the advice of a travel agent to unwind before our Safari. What an amazing place. You arrive by local motor/sail boat after landing at the air field on the nearby mainland. The hotel is owned and operated by a European couple who have been there for decades are well respected for their local involvement. They even run a sea turtle rescue and beach clean-up operation! The employees are all long timers and local offering wonderful personal service. The amazing part is you walk out of the beachfront compound and you are immediately in a Muslim village with no cars, numerous mosques, fascinating mostly non-tourist shops, and wonderful walking opportunities. The larger town is about 20 minutes by foot or there is a water taxi. This town too is fascinating.
The hotel accommodations are excellent, the food exotic and wonderful and the staff first class. A great retreat before or after a safari!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I stayed at Peponi last month (November) and it was great, first we got an upgrade to superior rooms due to the fact that there are not so many bookings after people canceled out of fear of Alshabaab...

It felt very safe and the peaceful, I loved every bit of it. From the sun downers at the terrace, the pool, the beach walks and the food...simply awesome

I am not a big fan of the speed boat ride so that wasn't the best part but again it is inevitable for as long as you are in Lamu

The only thing you have to watch out is mosquitoes, as much as they have nets there are so many of them that you will need a repellent

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

In Kenya for beach and safari visit. Stayed weekend at Peponi and had a super relaxing and enjoyable stay. In spite of all the scare of visiting Lamu we found everything to be fantastic including the amazing snorkeling, evening walks along the beach, visits to historic Lamu, great food and drink, and friendly reception. I would go again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room which was nice as it had a private terrace with view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We had lunch at Peponi's during our recent stay on Lamu and it was fabulous - sitting outside on the terrace, under the trees, a gentle breeze, watching the activity on the water and eating delicious and original food. Try the calamari and the seafood risotto! Despite all the press reports, it feels very safe and security is being taken very very seriously. Go - you will get a great deal and have a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peponi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peponi Hotel

Address: Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peponi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Peponi Hotel Lamu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peponi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.