We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Veiw from the lounge.
Veiw from the lounge.
Veiw from the lounge.
Forodhani from the sea.
The front entrance.
The swimming pool.
View from the terrace.
Lamu Island
|
Rental Home – 
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Balconyma...
Byron bay
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house Spectacular location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed in Forodhani house for 5 days. The house is nothing short of spectacular in many ways. The décor is minimal but tasteful, the staff are helpful and charming. Food prepared by local chef was fresh and healthy but not gourmet - not that we expected Michelin stars.
The house could be kept a little better and lacks the personal touch of an owner operator , small detail and small repairs would make all the difference.. but as they say TIF "this is Africa" overall we fell in live with Lamu and will be back some day.. Forodhani will be on our list too.
Wi Fi should be included these days - and the noise of the locals at the water front needs to be taken into account if you want a very quiet place.. We actually enjoyed the banta and local charm

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: position
Liked least: noise
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Alan_aka...
netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sublime Forodhani”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say about my stay in Forodhani ? I am neither poet nor novelist so have not words enough to describe it, but let me try.
Imagine awakening to hear the fishermen leaving the jetty at sunrise, an evocative sound that only helps one dream further with only the sound of the waves lapping on the jetty till the children board the water taxis to head to school in nearby Lamu town. This should waken you as by now the sun is burning brightly through your front windows. So you shower and head downstairs to the kitchen where the coffee is waiting, and you discuss with the chef your preferences for breakfast.
You sit in the dining area with open view over the the garden and lagoon to Manda Island with the occasional dhow sailing by. If you are lucky, as I was, you could see a pod of dolphins swim by. During breakfast the chef will ask if you have any special wishes for lunch or dinner, maybe freshly caught lobster or red snapper or maybe just calamari? After breakfast, the beach is at your front, so depending on the tide you can either walk outside for a swim in the sea or jump in the swimming pool.
Time passes deceptively slowly in Shela, and unfortunately before you know it, you will have have to leave this paradise. The memories however will never leave you: the evening sunset cruising on the dhows, the sundowners at Peponi Hotel only 100 meters away, the walks along the virtually empty beach, the deliciously fresh seafood meals. Yes, I want to do it again!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2013
Dear Alan,
Many thanks for your review of Forodhani and we are so happy that you had such an amazing time and how fantastic that you also got to see the dolphins - that really is a magical sight!
I hope that your trip back was good and that you can cone and visit us again soon!
:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
verone49
Angers / Pays de la Loire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Un véritable enchantement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 for a stay in February 2012
Google Translation

Forodhani House est un rêve de maison de vacances au bor de la mer... La situation est exceptionnelle, directement sur la plage, également le point de départ de toutes les excursions et autres sunset cruises...

La maison est splendide, sa décoration raffinée. Et la mer est partout. On l'admire depuis les nombreuses terrasses, autour de la piscine, dans le salon... en regardant passer les voiliers des marins pêcheurs, du lever au coucher du soleil.

Le personnel, charmant, est aux petits soins pour nous. Le cuisinier prépare, à notre demande, des plats swahilis, simples et parfumés, à base des poissons et crustacés pêchés le matin même.

Vers 17h, marcher vers les dunes, se baigner au coucher du soleil et revenir prendre l'apéritif sur la terrasse, en grignotant des délicieux beignets d'Ali Somosa.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: L'emplacement, directement sur la plage
Liked least: Le séjour trop court !
Traveling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$773
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
ADVANTAGE East Africa
Speaks English, French, German
Listed since : Jun 2012
Calendar Updated: 655 days ago
Note: Response rate information for this owner is unavailable.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing