We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamu House Beach Club

Lamu House Beach Club
Manda Beach, Lamu Island, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Lamu Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

In our stay in Lamu this restaurant was where we went everyday for lunch. The owners are very friendly and the staff are very good. would go back again, plus they can arrange for a day trip to the beach on the islands Manda or Shella breathtaking place.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    15
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Last good day of the year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Found lamu house beach club on the last day when we were on lamu and had a splendid time sunning, swimming and dreaming of our return. The food was fresh and plenty of ice for our soda.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Town and beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

First let me start by saying I didn't stay at this hotel -- unfortunately. It certainly looks exquisite. I would, however, like to say that if the lovely restaurant, the attentive staff, the professional and genial owner and the fantastic Lamu Beach Club are any indication -- this is the best place in all of Lamu town.
This is the only hotel that has its own beach club on a pristine beach. The friendly staff takes a boat with supplies out to Manda Island every morning and returns late in the afternoon/early evening. If you are lucky, you can hitch a ride with them at about 10 a.m. Alternatively, you can hire a boat and make a deal about your return. Stay for lunch! While you are enjoying the rays on the very cool beach loungers or taking a leisurely walk along the sea looking towards Shela, the staff is cooking up good eats at the grill and making sure there are enough ice cubes for your drink upon your return! It really felt like paradise to spend the day at this little satellite of Lamu House Hotel. They put on a great -- and very affordable -- Sunday Brunch where a lot of the local expats come out to enjoy the great vibe that has been yours alone for the rest of the week.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

During our stay in Lamu, we spent several days at the Lamu House Beach Club on Manda Island. It is definitely the best place to combine sunbathing, relaxing and swimming with delightful lunches including great grilled seafood! The owners also organize exquisite dinners at the Beach Club a couple of times a week, which is something you do not want to miss!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, lovely food, good vibe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

If you are into a day at the beach, Lamu House Beach Club is the place to be. Just a 10 min. boat ride away from Lamu island, this should definitely be on your to do-list. There is a beautiful bar and a nice lounge corner. Lunches and diners are terrific. During our stay on Lamu we went several times. We had for example - bbq grilled vegetables, pasta vongole, fresh tuna, calamari risotto... simple, savory and fresh - each dish is a true treat! And: inexpensive. Diner is served on wooden tables in the shadow of some trees. After that you can take a nap on one of the four-poster beds. The water is clear, the sand is white (but hot!), very few tourists - Lamu House Beach Club comes very close to what I call paradise.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lamu House Beach Club also viewed

Lamu Island, Coast Province
Lamu Island, Coast Province
 
Lamu Island, Coast Province
Lamu Island, Coast Province
 

Been to Lamu House Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamu House Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.