We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful escape with excellent service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Majlis Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Majlis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Majlis Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ras Kitau Bay, Manda Island | PO Box 502, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful escape with excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you're looking for a peaceful escape from the busy life of today's metropoles, The Majlis should be your choice. Perfect to hang out with friends, as a romantic couple destination or to hide from the world even as a single traveller. The service is simply amazing and the staff is bending over backwards to fulfill your wishes while respecting your privacy if needed. I was not the easiest guest as I was a little bit sick and moody but their positive attitude and the beautiful setting here made it impossible to stay grumpy :) The beautiful location makes it easy just to be lazy and to relax at the beach but there is also lots to do and to discover if you are the more active type. You should love boats though as there is only little movement other than via boat. On the other hand that gives you the advantage of seeing the beautiful sunset every evening while the hotels on the other side of the channel like in Shela village only see the sunrise in the morning - at a time when I prefer to enjoy the luxury of sleeping in :) And last but not least the food is delicious and based on what the ocean has to offer everyday. Enjoy your stay - I for sure did!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
39
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Landing at Manda Airstrip, it is immediately apparent that this is a place of peace, quiet, and appreciation of nature and life. Speedboat transfer to the hotel across the bay brought us to land on the beach to an enchanting villa on the shore - there is but a simple porch as the entrance to this amazing lap of luxury. Checking in was a simple affair, rooms incredibly well sized and appointed with A/C, Fan, Kikoy Towels and all other amenities expected of a 5-star resort coupled with creative presentation.
Fresh seafood and healthy but tasty meals at Majlis meant we ate to our hearts content while avoiding the extra holiday weight. A wide variety of cocktails, sheesha and chilled madafu (coconuts) added that extra touch.
Staff were very attentive to bring round towels to whichever pool you wanted and a tasty snack menu keeps the hunger at bay after swimming.
Would recommend learning how to Wakeboard/WaterSki with the instructors who were very positive and encouraging as well as the Sunset Dhow cruise with a cocktail of your choice onboard.
A place that has far exceeded my expectations and is definately due a return visit!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very well appointed - some rooms face the inside of the island however you shouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a luxurious resort set on a beautiful island.

The setting of the resort is unique. It is located right on a beautiful golden sandy beach facing the sea. The design has an ancient traditional feel and all the pillars and the doors are carved with ornamental designs.

There is plenty of space within the resort for privacy and relaxation. The terrace bar has an amazing view and it’s the perfect place to meet other guests and enjoy the sunset whilst having a drink.

The interior of the rooms is gorgeous and you will definitely want to take pictures of it. The villas provide ample space and modern comfort all combined with an ancient charm.

The staff could not be any better and they really made my stay special. From the moment I arrived I felt welcomed and well looked after. They were genuinely friendly, polite, never intrusive and always willing to make my time there as pleasant as possible. One of the best I have come across in my travels.

The food was excellent! The cuisine is traditional combined with a modern twist. The ingredients were very fresh (fish was superb!) and the presentation was always to a high standard.

There are lots of fun activities on offer in the resort to suit all tastes. I personally enjoyed the fishing trip in the dhow sailing boat as well as the popular excursions around the island by mountain bike with Katana.

I have travelled extensively and this is one of the best and most unique resorts I have stayed in. The setting is gorgeous and I had everything I needed to relax and unwind. This, along with the warm hospitality, great food and plenty of fun activities, means that I'm already looking forward to going back very soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This place is a piece of art: greatly decorated and designed, the resort includes many confortable and quiet rooms, very large and practically on the beach! All amenities are included. Also, for families there are connecting or double rooms. Not to mention the unbelievable Royal Suite.
Food is superb: a true mixture of local and haute cuisine.
Service is unique, with friendly and numerous staff.
Also beautiful garden, incredible pools (2!), massage and many activities (beach, sea, mountain bikes, ...). Absolute must: the sunset drinks on the terrace bar or on the dhow boat.
Last but not least, the entire resort is eco-friendly.
I would recommend this place both for families and couples, including business off-site meetings. Of course, perfect if you want to rejuvinate mixing nature and luxury.

Room Tip: The Royal Suite is of course unique - otherwise room number 3 or 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We absolutely loved it.... The location was gorgeous. The weather was perfect. The atmosphere was total zen. The rooms were beautiful & comfortable. The food was great. The service was excellent. And the management was the best. We'll be back! That's for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our visit was totally magical. The Majlis has to be the only place to be when in Lamu and Manda. I expected August to be busy but even though there were few other guests, it sits on a massive piece of land with a very wide beach. The roof top bar had to be our favorite stop, to have sizzling cold sundowner cocktails and have a heavenly view of the sunset. The massage lady is the sweetest soul and the staff is very well trained and warm hearted, and I mean from the Restaurant to the speedboat captains. We had so many couples activities, the biking to the Manda bay, the jet skiing... Another thing, the administration is very reasonable and their priority was for all guests to have a time of their lives and boy, I am definately coming back for more of those :-)

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floors have nicer views but the ones near the sea front are the best. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Imagine; no cars, no traffic, no noises. Only the sound of the sea, a clear blue sky, a beautiful sunset, the appearance of the moon and Venus. Really breathtaking!!!! That is the environment of the Majlis.

I was really surprised. The Majlis is a secret 'pearl' on Manda Island. A luxury (tasteful) villa hotel at the beach with plenty of water sports activities. It just takes 5 minutes by boat to get you to hip (crowded and noisy) Lamu where you can shop, visit the old harbour (Unesco) and museum.
After a drink you take the boat back to Manda Island and enjoying dinner at sunset!

'Never a dull day'. Check out the mangroves on Manda Island! You can explore them by bike or canoe! What ever you like to do, the Majlis can provide the tips and trips!

Thank you Manda Island, thank you Majlis. We Will be back. That's for sure!

Robbert, August 2013, Amsterdam

Room Tip: Every room at the Majlis is 'room with a view'!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Majlis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majlis Hotel

Address: Ras Kitau Bay, Manda Island | PO Box 502, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majlis Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic, luxurious, stylish, unique, …the Majlis resort is a privately-owned luxury beach hotel on the north coast of Kenya in the Indian ocean. Designed and built to reflect Lamu’s heritage tradition, The Majlis combines 25 superbly appointed luxury air-conditioned suites built with Western comforts and local tradition. State-of-the-art facilities include two bars, a gourmet restaurant, two swimming pools and an activity center which graciously co-ordinates a wide variety of full day experiences for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Majlis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Majlis Lamu Ltd Hotel Lamu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Majlis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.