We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bush Gardens Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bush Gardens Restaurant
Harambee Ave, town centre, Lamu Island, Kenya
633285
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Lamu Island
Restaurant details
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simple but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were looking for Biriyani which we found here. We also had crab. It is a simple restaurant but the food is good and very friendly service. Value for money. We went twice and we were greeted the second time as old friends :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our visit to Bush Garden was almost changed. When we first started ordering, they didn't have many of the things that we wanted, particularly coconut. The enthusiastic manager actually went and got coconuts from the tree. He was so helpful and the food was delicious!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Bush Gardens Lamu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We ate lunch here just once during our 3-week stay on Lamu.
We were the only diners but the service was friendly and good . It was obvious that the meal was cooked freshly for us.
Food I found rather pedestrian but my husband rated it as very good.
Lots to watch as the restaurant is on the main quay.
The experience spoilt a little by the drainy smell from somewhere , maybe low-tide in the harbour.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Delaware
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great staff, good local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having just spent a month on Lamu, my husband and I had several dinners and many fruit drinks here. This is a typical, seafront restaurant which provides much entertainment just watching local life pass by. The young man who works here is terrific, very attentive and friendly and always went out of his way to make us satisfied. The soups and samosas are quite good and most meals come with a lovely salad. The fish is always fresh and I really enjoyed the chicken thika and the curries. The burianis were also good. There were very few tourists during our stay so we were often the only diners. However, all meals and drinks were made to order which usually meant a long wait. But we weren't going anywhere and the passing show was worth the wait.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy tummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Having had lunch and dinner at Bush gardens several times during my stay on lamu, my favorite two dishes were fish kabobs and ginger crab and if your lucky the owner will entertain you with some of his cleaver stories, where they "fact or fiction" I'm not sure.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bush Gardens Restaurant also viewed

Lamu Island, Coast Province
Lamu Island, Coast Province
 
Lamu Island, Coast Province
Lamu Island, Coast Province
 

Been to Bush Gardens Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bush Gardens Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.