We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Iced Coffee!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whispers Coffeeshop

Whispers Coffeeshop
Kenyatta Rd, town centre, Lamu Island, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Lamu Island
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Iced Coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The shop has a lot of soups and salads. The food way pretty standard, but the iced coffee was amazing! Had to work hard to resist ordering multiple...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
World trip
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We went here, because their coffee was recommended. In fact, the coffee was bad. The juices are nice, but quiet expensive compared to other places on the island.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkeland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere in a backyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

After several visit in Lamu, I finally decided to do a change from just passing by Whispers Coffeeshop, and I was a little amazed when I discover the backyard and to cosy atmosphere, the best one so far discovered in Lamu Town.

Me and my fiancé found this place as a really nice place to come and having our breakfast and easy lunch. It's not like they necessarily have the best food. But the milkshake is good, though, we prefer the big one at Hapa Hapa. Probably we will drop by next time as well, for having a breakfast or a lunch in this nice backyard.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Real coffee...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We went for a real espresso and ended up staying for the excellent cakes! A real gem in Lamu, there is also an excellent shop attached with some great stuff from all different parts of Africa.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
“Decent coffee, terrrrrible pastries!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Overpriced for what it is, but it fits the "expat tourist" bill and therefore charges expat tourist prices. It does juices, coffee and - yes - cakes and muffins which look and taste like they have been sitting there for days. You have been warned... But the ambiance is good and service pretty punctual.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whispers Coffeeshop also viewed

Lamu Island, Coast Province
Lamu Island, Coast Province
 
Lamu Island, Coast Province
Lamu Island, Coast Province
 

Been to Whispers Coffeeshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whispers Coffeeshop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.