We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo

Mediterraneo
Junction Shopping Cenre, Ngong Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 3878608/3873823/0734845077
Update restaurant details
Ranked #60 of 302 restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a lovely Italian meal here. Restaurant has a lovely ambiance and the service was very good. We had no concern over portion size as we were all unable to have dessert as our entrees were large. We were a party of three and shared one appetizer and then each had an entree so were surprised to read someone thought portions small. We all had pasta dishes. There was a large variety of vegetarian choices for the one in our group. Enjoyed everything we ordered and thought the food was excellent!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    26
    50
    14
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“5 pieces of ravioli for Kshs. 1,300!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Ridiculously small portions. I am a 5''1 lady who doesn't need to eat much but you can imagine my surprise when I ordered the Ravioli with Spinach and Ricotta to only get FIVE pieces of the pasta on my plate - and that's a meal without any meat.

Someone I was with ordered the lamb chops, which was about the same price as my pasta, and although he found that portion small, at least the food filled his plate.

Imagine if this 6''9/75 KG male companion I was with had been the one who had ordered my pasta!

And the Manager was completely unhelpful. When we complained that the portion of the pasta was too small, he simply said "But they should have put five pieces, did they put less than that?" When I pointed out that that was exactly the problem - that five pieces was too little, he promised to escalate the matter with the Chef but we never got any feedback.

Stay away from the pasta - portions are too small. Order a meal with a lot of meat to get your money's worth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Disappointing - especially for the high price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We went there after shopping, had some pizza and wine. Both overpriced, pizza took 45 min to arrive and was not up to expectations. Very average at best. Not recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Eating out at Mediterraneo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Mediterraneo, the unique Italian experience in the heart of Nairobi, brings you an unforgettable experience of true Italian dining. Set in its warm colours, it takes you back to the streets of Florence. Indulge in the specialties of great seafood, pasta and vintage wines.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is one of the greatest restaurants, I went to the Junction and their meals are just next level, with great service to make one feel great. With this kind of special treatment and great meal you definitely get memorable moments.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo also viewed

 

Been to Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.