We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo

Mediterraneo
Junction Shopping Cenre, Ngong Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 3878608/3873823/0734845077
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Visited with family for a Sunday lunch..couldn't say I have eaten hotel food any better than this! The meal was awesome (the and the place momentarily makes you forget that shopping mall locked up feeling. I think I chose a good day since we had full waiting attention. Will be back for sure, either here, or any other of the sister chains in the city.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    29
    53
    14
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place for dinner and great Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place was quietly tucked near the shopping center.If you looking for a nice romantic candle light dinner.This is the place to be.You can sit outside in open or inside the restaurant.The place is neither has too much lights nor too dark just perfect decor for nice evening.Prices seemed reasonable.We started with greek salad,another salad.We then moved to fried squid and prawns.We ordered vegetarian Lasagne which was simply out of the world.Vegetarian Pizza was also great.Basically everything we tried on our first visit was awesome.I would ve wanted to try out more on non veg side but since some of our frnds didnt ve non veg so we took more of vegetarian dishes.would surely visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Chain restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

hard to find hundred words...
is exactly what you expect from a chain restaurant. everything average.
I got a pizza, not too bad not too good.
beer just average choices.
my guest ate chicken. she wasn't impressed too.
price average too...
one think I did not like was the distance between tables. too close. having quite noisy people around in this city... is not what you really want.
if starving I will be back.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chef'd day off?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This was really a disappointment. We been told good stuff bout the place so it may be better usually or have been at some point.

The place looks ok, one of the many italian wannebe's. Atmosphere seemed good.
The owner probably knew what he was doing when he made the place, before he got into some kind of careless stage.

Service average. Waiters seemed tired and with very little knowlegde when we asked about the menue. The didnt pay any attention to us except the most needed as bringing menues, drinks, food etc.

Food was served fast. To fast for a chef to deliver proper food, and we soon realised why.
The chicken breast was beaten until very thin and unrecogniseable. Like a thick paper. Then grilled until totally dry and tasteless. To cover the bad preparing it was totally covered under enourmeus amounts of tasteless sauce. We also ordered lamb that was so dry that u could break the slices as it was chips.
The lamb was also old. I meen really old. The parts off it that didnt have chips consistence was crumbling in our mouths
It had obviously been warmed several times.
At arrival we where extremely hungry, but we just couldnt manage to eat the food.

The waiters was probably aware of the kitchen situation because the avoided all our attempts of getting their attention until we signalized that we wanted to pay.
We then told our disappointment but got no other response than a sorry. Not even an explanation or a coffe offer. In the end we went home and made a nice dinner ourself. We just managed to cook it until the vomiting and diareea started...

I sincerely have to recomend ppl to stay away from this place until the management starts to care again.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good Food, value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

we went for a nice evening outing in December 2012 for a great dinner, the Staff welcomed us very friendly, took us to a nice clean table, and when the waiter could not answer my questions, about my special diet requests, he called the supervisor, who then went himself several times to the cook to ensure all is done as needed. The food was delicious and can only recommend to any fellow travelers.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya

Been to Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.