We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always try to make it here when i am in Nairobi.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo

Mediterraneo
Junction Shopping Cenre, Ngong Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 3878608/3873823/0734845077
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 340 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dallas TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always try to make it here when i am in Nairobi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Atmosphere is great, staff well trained, food excellent, wine choices great....and always great to finish off with lemon sorbet. Ive never had a bad meal here whether two of us or a group.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    60
    21
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We ate at this restaurant a number of times at its Junction location. The food was excellent , plenty of choice. Good selection of wines and excellent staff. Recommended and better than the nearby Art Caffe.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Mediterraneo is one of my very favourite restaurants in Nairobi. I visit on almost every trip to Kenya. The cuisine is Italian, with a specials menu that changes periodically. I almost always choose pasta (and sometimes a starter) from that menu, and have never been disappointed. Their chocolate mousse is the best anywhere. I often order two, one to take away. (Don’t be surprised at being charged a small sum for a take-out box, not uncommon in East Africa.)

The restaurant’s atmosphere is a bit old-school, which I like. The upstairs is larger and, therefore, noisier. There’s also a smaller downstairs dining area inside plus a terrace. I prefer the four or so tables near the stairs, which are quieter and more intimate. Service is generally good, although I did have one bad experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“an Ok place in Nairobi...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This restaurant is conveniently located in one of the main malls of Nairobi. The settings are beautiful. The food is average, in relation to the restaurants history, but the service is wanting.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great atmosphere and a variety of different dishes - the different fish dishes are excellent, as well as the lamb chops - perfectly tender and tasty! Yum :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo also viewed

 

Been to Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.