We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo Ristorante, Junction Mall

Mediterraneo Ristorante, Junction Mall
Ngong Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254734845077
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 419 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Mediterraneo Ristorante at The Junction is a secluded yet lively spot, bringing the shopping centre's vibrant, modern atmosphere together with a quaint Italian décor and - of course - excellent food. This branch features two floors, each with al fresco dining areas, perfect for a quick lunch, a long meal to catch up with friends or a romantic evening date. Our Junction branch also boasts some unique special offers, allowing you to enjoy more of the authentic Italian experience we strive to recreate.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We ate at this restaurant a number of times at its Junction location. The food was excellent , plenty of choice. Good selection of wines and excellent staff. Recommended and better than the nearby Art Caffe.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nige B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Mediterraneo is one of my very favourite restaurants in Nairobi. I visit on almost every trip to Kenya. The cuisine is Italian, with a specials menu that changes periodically. I almost always choose pasta (and sometimes a starter) from that menu, and have never been disappointed. Their chocolate mousse is the best anywhere. I often order two, one to take away. (Don’t be surprised at being charged a small sum for a take-out box, not uncommon in East Africa.)

The restaurant’s atmosphere is a bit old-school, which I like. The upstairs is larger and, therefore, noisier. There’s also a smaller downstairs dining area inside plus a terrace. I prefer the four or so tables near the stairs, which are quieter and more intimate. Service is generally good, although I did have one bad experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“an Ok place in Nairobi...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This restaurant is conveniently located in one of the main malls of Nairobi. The settings are beautiful. The food is average, in relation to the restaurants history, but the service is wanting.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tonyrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great atmosphere and a variety of different dishes - the different fish dishes are excellent, as well as the lamb chops - perfectly tender and tasty! Yum :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HealthRetreatsAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Italien food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I just had a great pasta and the setting is nice even though it is in a mall - there is a discreet garden and upstairs is nice too. The wine bottles are all out and so you can chose one for your wine.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LynnSpouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo Ristorante, Junction Mall also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Mediterraneo Ristorante, Junction Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing