We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo

Mediterraneo
Junction Shopping Cenre, Ngong Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 3878608/3873823/0734845077
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 347 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We ate at this restaurant a number of times at its Junction location. The food was excellent , plenty of choice. Good selection of wines and excellent staff. Recommended and better than the nearby Art Caffe.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    60
    22
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Mediterraneo is one of my very favourite restaurants in Nairobi. I visit on almost every trip to Kenya. The cuisine is Italian, with a specials menu that changes periodically. I almost always choose pasta (and sometimes a starter) from that menu, and have never been disappointed. Their chocolate mousse is the best anywhere. I often order two, one to take away. (Don’t be surprised at being charged a small sum for a take-out box, not uncommon in East Africa.)

The restaurant’s atmosphere is a bit old-school, which I like. The upstairs is larger and, therefore, noisier. There’s also a smaller downstairs dining area inside plus a terrace. I prefer the four or so tables near the stairs, which are quieter and more intimate. Service is generally good, although I did have one bad experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“an Ok place in Nairobi...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This restaurant is conveniently located in one of the main malls of Nairobi. The settings are beautiful. The food is average, in relation to the restaurants history, but the service is wanting.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great atmosphere and a variety of different dishes - the different fish dishes are excellent, as well as the lamb chops - perfectly tender and tasty! Yum :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Italien food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I just had a great pasta and the setting is nice even though it is in a mall - there is a discreet garden and upstairs is nice too. The wine bottles are all out and so you can chose one for your wine.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.