We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delectable BBQ!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hashmi`s Restaurant

Hashmi`s Restaurant
Nakummat Ukay, Nairobi, Kenya
733721786
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 318 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delectable BBQ!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I always enjoyed going to Hashmi's ..doesn't matter what time it was. They have scrumptious menu. The one important thing they can improve on, is the ambiance. Needs a major makeover.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    34
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“they let me down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

i dragged my friends there thinking it will be just as good as it was four years ago but sorry its just the name .. they let me down

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“CHIPS MASALA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Am thinking of kidnapping the guy who makes their chips masala and the tamarind sauce! am drooling as I type...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
“Great Chicken Tikas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you are in the know of what a Kenyan chicken tika is, then this is one of the places you should go to in Nairobi.

Chicken tika has evolved from North Indian Punjabi tandoori chicken yet in Kenya we do it differently. And if I may say so myself, we do it better!

Chargrilled spicy marinated chicken served with shredded salad, tamarind sauce, coconut chutney and hot sauce, accompanied by naan. The chicken is very good, eventhough my favourite in Nairobi would be at Shabana. The naan, as with all tika places, is not a real Punjabi naan, rather thick white flat bread, but it goes well together. Add an order of mix (kebabs and mishkaki) as well as masala chips and you've got a glorious feast.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply the best Indian/Pakistani Barbecue in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you love Indian/Pakistani barbecue - this is a must go place. Casual, relaxed, reasonably priced and amazing value for money. Treat your gluttony for flesh here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hashmi`s Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hashmi`s Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hashmi`s Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.