We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chicken Tikas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hashmi`s Restaurant

Hashmi`s Restaurant
Nakummat Ukay, Nairobi, Kenya
733721786
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 419 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Barbecue, Halal, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
322 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Great Chicken Tikas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you are in the know of what a Kenyan chicken tika is, then this is one of the places you should go to in Nairobi.

Chicken tika has evolved from North Indian Punjabi tandoori chicken yet in Kenya we do it differently. And if I may say so myself, we do it better!

Chargrilled spicy marinated chicken served with shredded salad, tamarind sauce, coconut chutney and hot sauce, accompanied by naan. The chicken is very good, eventhough my favourite in Nairobi would be at Shabana. The naan, as with all tika places, is not a real Punjabi naan, rather thick white flat bread, but it goes well together. Add an order of mix (kebabs and mishkaki) as well as masala chips and you've got a glorious feast.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Smoke_Trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply the best Indian/Pakistani Barbecue in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you love Indian/Pakistani barbecue - this is a must go place. Casual, relaxed, reasonably priced and amazing value for money. Treat your gluttony for flesh here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

i loved the food but the take away packing put me off, maybe if i had sat down and eaten there they would have gotten a 5 star rating.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MuthoniKabugua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callaway, Minnesota
Level Contributor
139 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

In Nairobi the first week of December and wanted to try some Indian food and based on the reviews in TA, I picked this restaurant and I am glad I did. While the ambiance is not the greatest, everything else was super. The food was excellent, the wait staff was very nice, Watumba I think his name was was so sincere and humble, it was a joy of have him serve me. Had lamb chops, the vegetable rice, and fresh nan. And then had the ice cream and it was so good, I had to order a second helping of the pistachio. Location was fine, it always amazes me a little that when a restaurant is in a mall location, the amount of parking available is so minimal.

On my next trip to Nairobi, I will be sure to visit here again.

Jim from Minnesota

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maplelagjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
1 review
“unbeatable yummy spicy bbq!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Eat in, Takeaway or delivery. Food is always tasty and fresh and can order mild medium or hot all watered down with cold passion juice!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sar0_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hashmi`s Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hashmi`s Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing