We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chicken Tikas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hashmi`s Restaurant

Hashmi`s Restaurant
Nakummat Ukay, Nairobi, Kenya
733721786
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Great Chicken Tikas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you are in the know of what a Kenyan chicken tika is, then this is one of the places you should go to in Nairobi.

Chicken tika has evolved from North Indian Punjabi tandoori chicken yet in Kenya we do it differently. And if I may say so myself, we do it better!

Chargrilled spicy marinated chicken served with shredded salad, tamarind sauce, coconut chutney and hot sauce, accompanied by naan. The chicken is very good, eventhough my favourite in Nairobi would be at Shabana. The naan, as with all tika places, is not a real Punjabi naan, rather thick white flat bread, but it goes well together. Add an order of mix (kebabs and mishkaki) as well as masala chips and you've got a glorious feast.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    48
    32
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply the best Indian/Pakistani Barbecue in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you love Indian/Pakistani barbecue - this is a must go place. Casual, relaxed, reasonably priced and amazing value for money. Treat your gluttony for flesh here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

i loved the food but the take away packing put me off, maybe if i had sat down and eaten there they would have gotten a 5 star rating.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callaway, Minnesota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

In Nairobi the first week of December and wanted to try some Indian food and based on the reviews in TA, I picked this restaurant and I am glad I did. While the ambiance is not the greatest, everything else was super. The food was excellent, the wait staff was very nice, Watumba I think his name was was so sincere and humble, it was a joy of have him serve me. Had lamb chops, the vegetable rice, and fresh nan. And then had the ice cream and it was so good, I had to order a second helping of the pistachio. Location was fine, it always amazes me a little that when a restaurant is in a mall location, the amount of parking available is so minimal.

On my next trip to Nairobi, I will be sure to visit here again.

Jim from Minnesota

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“unbeatable yummy spicy bbq!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Eat in, Takeaway or delivery. Food is always tasty and fresh and can order mild medium or hot all watered down with cold passion juice!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hashmi`s Restaurant also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya

Been to Hashmi`s Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hashmi`s Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.