We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kipepeo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kipepeo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kipepeo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   River Rd, opposite bank of africa next to eastmatt, Nairobi 75362, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“bad location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

an average hotel but poorly located in downtown nairobi. It was a crowded area, market and shops around and therefore it was safe goin out at night. dint really enjoy the food, always had to take omlet. wifi superb. enjoyed the karaoke night on friday even though i did not understand what the dude was singing. Book well ahead so i think it was a fair deal. spent 3 nights

Room Tip: rooms facing courtyard has superb internet and also away from the noise on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    24
    7
    14
See reviews for
8
23
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Spent a night there but regretted the rooms are so small and was given a room with a broken cistern and could not be able to flush the toilet. Though the staff are friendly and there food also was not bad. Should at least repair the broken items in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juba, South Sudan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Big room, nice breakfast buffet, good wifi at 4000 kshs, perfect location if you need to travel by bus. Bit noisy, so ask for a room in the back. Doubting whether I'll give it 3 or 4 stars. 3.5 seems most appropriate.
Tripadvisor insists on me writing 200 characters ... If yur really on a tight budget, try Niam hotel (at the end of the street that connects with river road - if you come from kipepeo: cross accra street and keep on going - last building on your right). Great lunch buffet at 300 and clean rooms at 1000 including breakfast!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Rooms were good with tv, warm water, quiet and wifi only available at 1st floor and its not fast. Staff were friendly and breakfast was ordinary. Location not very secure for walking at night snd its got very high human traffic during the day. Bus companies are just in the vicinity for travel to Kampala, Dar es Salam, Kigali,etc.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muloma, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Kipepeo, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your stay and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was delighted to read that many members of our team provided such a memorable experience upon your stay. Thank you for your kind acknowledgements. If your travels bring you back to Nairobi, we will look forward to the honour of your return visit. If there is anything we could do to assist in your future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

it nice place, staffs are nice and helpful, the room small, but okay for single traveler, also the place near bus station, you may hear too much noise from outside, if your window room face the bus station....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muloma, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Kipepeo, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Wiseyoho,
Thank you for the outstanding comments on our Hotel. We will make sure to share your review with our entire staff. We love providing top notch experiences to all of our guests. Indeed, our hotel is convenient to travelers, we are glad you noticed. Thank you for the recommendation in advance and we look forward to providing many more great experiences for you and other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

haven't tried the accommodation, but saw the place. It looks like a good choice if you wanna stay in the center of Nairobi. What will bring me back to Kipepeo is definitely their chicken curry ;) Management is really customer driven and very friendly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muloma, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Kipepeo, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Patryk C,
Thank you for the delicious review. Indeed we have the best chicken curry and we are glad you appreciate it. Also our accommodation is nice and we wish you get the experience. Its our tradition to give quality service to our guest to their satisfaction. We look forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I t has never happened but I will dread the day I miss a room at Kipepeo Hotel.My visits are always short ones and my ventures are always around the city.It just conveniently located for us who like moving up and about.The hospitality is great, the food too.Just like the friendly atmosphere extended by the staff whom I have found very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper florrs are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naftali m, Manager at Hotel Kipepeo, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
jambo! thank you so much for your comments. we are honored to serve you during your stays in nairobi. apart from accommodation, meals and drinks we've introduced a band that performs on thurdays, fridays and saturday from 7-9pm. we've also introduced free city guide to all popular places like city market, national archives ....... we look forward to hosting you on your next trip to nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kipepeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kipepeo

Address: River Rd, opposite bank of africa next to eastmatt, Nairobi 75362, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kipepeo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kipepeo is the flagship of the Kipepeo Group of Hotels, all offering accommodation and services at budget prices, comprising Hotel Kipepeo and Hotel Mariposa, both situated in the rapidly growing downtown section of Nairobi, while Kipepeo Avenue House is located in the heart of Nairobi's Central Business District.Hotel Kipepeo comprises 56 letting rooms which may be booked online, bar and a la carte restaurant. It is five minutes' walk from the Central Business District.All rooms are equipped with power showers and mosquito netting, computerised door locks, digital safes,satellite tv and CCTV enhanced security.Reception operates 24 hours and free wi-fi internet is available. The restaurant offers both international and local cuisine.The hotel has partnered with Spanish Express Coach services, offering a direct service to Mombasa which may be booked from within the hotel. The coach departs daily from the front of the hotel.Hotel Mariposa is situated five minutes' walk away from Hotel Kipepeo. It comprises 16 letting rooms and full bar and restaurant services. Free wi-fi internet is available.Hotel Mariposa also provides all the conference facilities of the Kipepeo Group of Hotels through several halls ranging from small meetings to major presentations. All halls are equipped with full digital screen services and any specialised equipment needed may be ordered in advance.The hotel also offers small lounges for hire for private meetings, with dedicated waiter service.In house manicure and pedicure services are offered on selected days of the week.Hotel Mariposa has partnered with Spanish Express Coach Services to Mombasa. The coaches, which may be booked at Hotel Kipepeo, depart from outside Hotel Mariposa.For guests staying at Hotels Kipepeo and Mariposa but working in the Central Business District, Kipepeo Avenue House offers full restaurant services and business lunches at competitive prices. Free wi-fi internet is available.Avenue House is situated opposite the New Stanley Hotel on Kenyatta Avenue.All three Kipepeo Hotels offer a changing mix of live entertainment on a nightly basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Kipepeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kipepeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.