We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad bed, bad recomendations, too dirty!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kipepeo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kipepeo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kipepeo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   River Rd, opposite bank of africa next to eastmatt, Nairobi 75362, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
montevideo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“bad bed, bad recomendations, too dirty!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

the atention is excelent and the restaurant good. the safari's recomendation is bad, too bad! the bed was horrible and de bathroom very dirty

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    23
    7
    14
See reviews for
7
22
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nakuru, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

having spent some days at Kipepeo early 2011 made me book myself there again this May- bad mistake.i booked a double room and there was only one towel.i asked for another towel for my husband and they did bring- 4 hours and 6 calls later. the room did not have mosquito net and i informed the reception desk at 7:00PM when i checked in. at 10:00PM after numerous calls to the desk,the reception lady told me she was sending someone to have my room sprayed with an insecticide- how was i to sleep in that room- where was i going to stay while they were spraying? the reception lady goes like- oh i hadn't thought of that. Anyway at 3:00AM- a million calls later and a thousand fake promises of someone bringing a mosquito net to me, i called the reception desk and the lady mentioned that she had sent someone- wonder if they went to the other hotel they had. Spent a very miserable night- not a wink of sleep due to the mosquitoes buzzing and the bed cover was nothing to write home about as it was dirty- i believe it used to be white but was now chocolate brown. The room did not have any mineral water for the guests. The only positive thing was the breakfast was on time!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

being denied justice by security , last night was a hell of a night to me , the security are corrupt ,they lied in ;police station just to gain money from yesterday night , \ i assure you guest to Kenya to book in Serena , and other big hotel to be safe . thanks

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The area is So bad that its NOT SAFE to walk outside without a security guard. However when you are inside its ok. I ordered a superior room and got a basic room without the things I was promised ie a kitchenette, separate dining room and only sport on tv (no movies or cable). The rubbish mosquito net that didn't work! + was noisy and basic.
The restaurant was ok and was delivered to your door for no extra charge, but they didn't have everything available. You can't drink the water there and they provide water in your room. However I did ring 5 times to get them to send more and this was frustrating. The view was ugly.
*Don't trust the hotel's taxi drivers, he tried to rip me off.

Room Tip: They say that if you want a superior room, you have to ask for a specific room number!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

hotel kipepeo is a 3 star hotel that have all the facilities of most major 4 start hotels. their rooms are clean, their staff are very friendly and they offer very good services all round. they offered B&B, although they should improve on that. the hotel is situated downtown but has pretty good security that advice you on movement. over all i recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a low budget accommodation in the city centre as it is situated not far from the central business area.

Room Tip: if you are the type that loves to use the internet, wi fi, go for the room on the ground floor, as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I visited Kenya on business and stopped overnight in Nairobi on the way in and out of the country. I stayed at the Hotel Kipepeo on both occasions and can recommend it if you're looking for a safe, clean and budget place to sleep. The staff provided a very high level of service, including effectively resolving a minor mix-up with my booking, which I'd made online less than 48 hours before arriving.

The location is ideal if you want to be in the centre of the city and, contrary to others' comments, this is a safe place to stay. Unfortunately, the fact the some inexperienced travellers simply 'feel' unsafe in unfamiliar situations has nothing to do with the real security situation and is definitely not a reason to downgrade the review of the Hotel. None of the earlier reviews actually provide any evidence for their negative comments concerning security. I walked around alone at night and felt completely safe.

Unlike many more modern Hotels, it's possible to open the windows to allow in fresh air. Moreover, there are very effective fitted mosquito nets suspended above the beds so you don't have to worry about being bitten at night. I slept in a room at both the front and the back of the Hotel. The back room was certainly quieter and had a good view out over the city, but I had no problem getting a refreshing sleep in the front room too.

I found a very reliable Taxi Driver who is attached to the Hotel. I used him on several occasions and, with a bit of bargaining, he provided a very efficient and reliable service. His name is Izac Mairani and his mobile number is: +254 722 445 964.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back on the higher floors are quieter and have a good view over the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

room was average clean with a good price. the surrounding environment was kind of messy and not very safe during night, but as long as you don't go out alone.... a nice supermarket right next to the hotel. many "white people" stay here for transition during safari. for my experience, i received GREAT help from the reception on connecting my trips! strongly recommend! (a little noise though, just a little)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kipepeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kipepeo

Address: River Rd, opposite bank of africa next to eastmatt, Nairobi 75362, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kipepeo 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kipepeo is the flagship of the Kipepeo Group of Hotels, all offering accommodation and services at budget prices, comprising Hotel Kipepeo and Hotel Mariposa, both situated in the rapidly growing downtown section of Nairobi, while Kipepeo Avenue House is located in the heart of Nairobi's Central Business District.Hotel Kipepeo comprises 56 letting rooms which may be booked online, bar and a la carte restaurant. It is five minutes' walk from the Central Business District.All rooms are equipped with power showers and mosquito netting, computerised door locks, digital safes,satellite tv and CCTV enhanced security.Reception operates 24 hours and free wi-fi internet is available. The restaurant offers both international and local cuisine.The hotel has partnered with Spanish Express Coach services, offering a direct service to Mombasa which may be booked from within the hotel. The coach departs daily from the front of the hotel.Hotel Mariposa is situated five minutes' walk away from Hotel Kipepeo. It comprises 16 letting rooms and full bar and restaurant services. Free wi-fi internet is available.Hotel Mariposa also provides all the conference facilities of the Kipepeo Group of Hotels through several halls ranging from small meetings to major presentations. All halls are equipped with full digital screen services and any specialised equipment needed may be ordered in advance.The hotel also offers small lounges for hire for private meetings, with dedicated waiter service.In house manicure and pedicure services are offered on selected days of the week.Hotel Mariposa has partnered with Spanish Express Coach Services to Mombasa. The coaches, which may be booked at Hotel Kipepeo, depart from outside Hotel Mariposa.For guests staying at Hotels Kipepeo and Mariposa but working in the Central Business District, Kipepeo Avenue House offers full restaurant services and business lunches at competitive prices. Free wi-fi internet is available.Avenue House is situated opposite the New Stanley Hotel on Kenyatta Avenue.All three Kipepeo Hotels offer a changing mix of live entertainment on a nightly basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Kipepeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kipepeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.