We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, Clean & Excellent Service - A great budget hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kipepeo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kipepeo to your Saves list
Hotel Kipepeo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   River Rd, opposite bank of africa next to eastmatt, Nairobi 75362, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
South West England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Safe, Clean & Excellent Service - A great budget hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I visited Kenya on business and stopped overnight in Nairobi on the way in and out of the country. I stayed at the Hotel Kipepeo on both occasions and can recommend it if you're looking for a safe, clean and budget place to sleep. The staff provided a very high level of service, including effectively resolving a minor mix-up with my booking, which I'd made online less than 48 hours before arriving.

The location is ideal if you want to be in the centre of the city and, contrary to others' comments, this is a safe place to stay. Unfortunately, the fact the some inexperienced travellers simply 'feel' unsafe in unfamiliar situations has nothing to do with the real security situation and is definitely not a reason to downgrade the review of the Hotel. None of the earlier reviews actually provide any evidence for their negative comments concerning security. I walked around alone at night and felt completely safe.

Unlike many more modern Hotels, it's possible to open the windows to allow in fresh air. Moreover, there are very effective fitted mosquito nets suspended above the beds so you don't have to worry about being bitten at night. I slept in a room at both the front and the back of the Hotel. The back room was certainly quieter and had a good view out over the city, but I had no problem getting a refreshing sleep in the front room too.

I found a very reliable Taxi Driver who is attached to the Hotel. I used him on several occasions and, with a bit of bargaining, he provided a very efficient and reliable service. His name is Izac Mairani and his mobile number is: +254 722 445 964.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back on the higher floors are quieter and have a good view over the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    29
    9
    14
See reviews for
9
24
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

room was average clean with a good price. the surrounding environment was kind of messy and not very safe during night, but as long as you don't go out alone.... a nice supermarket right next to the hotel. many "white people" stay here for transition during safari. for my experience, i received GREAT help from the reception on connecting my trips! strongly recommend! (a little noise though, just a little)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

Don't stay here. Check the rooms before you pay. The room are extremely small. you have only a few fewer between the wall and the bed. The rooms are not very clean. We were pushed into this hotel by a cab driver when we arrived early in the morning tired and exhausted. This was not the hotel we wanted to stay at but it appears the the cab driver was getting kick backs for our stay. The driver said the hotel we wanted to stay at was full. After a short nap and a bad breakfast at the hotel restaurant we checked out and booked a room at the original hotel we wanted to stay at. I would rate my experience as terrible and recommend that you first check the room before paying.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, MP, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

It is a very good value for money hotel. It's in Central Business District so its close to KICC, etc.The staff, all of them - Winrose, Shilla, Chris, Mark, Evans, Felix, Lucy, etc etc.., are amazing! Thanks for making our stay great. They are very helpful. We stayed there from March 27 - April 6th and had no problems there. The restaurant downstairs is nice with some live performances in the week. Breakfast, I personally felt was okay. Could be better! I did like their masala chips though.

One negative though is that it is located on River Road, and at night it's not safe to venture out walking by yourself. Hence, you have to take cabs which can hurt your pocket. But then again, we had a cab hired all day till late night everyday of our stay there as we went for business so had to travel around, hence, for us we never had any issues.

All and all, great staff, good rooms, value for money.

Room Tip: Room 51. Its spacious than other rooms and is on the backside, hence quiet. Although its on the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I always have lunch here whilst in town as they make local foods to my liking, the hotel is very clean and the service very good, the restaurant has a balcony hence you can see what happens in the streets of downtown Nairobi.

The rooms are spacious, beds comfy actually for a budget hotel you will be very impressed by the level of their cleanliness and good service.
However the location of the hotel makes it insecure to access it at Night past 10pm but as long as you inthe confinement of the hotel by the then you safe.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street for a peaceful night [matatus hooting and all}
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I was looking for a hotel where Riverside shuttle (to Moshi) can pick me up for free in Nairobi. The price was reasonable for single (USD50). I emailed the hotel and got a confirmation before I left home, and there was no trouble when checking in. Some parts of the room looked tired, but what I needed (bed, toilet, shower) were fine and clean. The staff were very kind and helpful. I had a good language lesson and enjoyed ugari tasting at the restaurant. The reception guy helped me when the shuttle company forgot to send a driver to pick me up in the morning (almost missed the bus). It was only one night, so I did not walk around outside. But my impression was that when all the road work around the area finished, the access to the city centre would be safer and easier. Anyway, I appreciated the staff's cooperation.

Room Tip: I forgot my room number but mine was not facing a busy main street, so it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Staying at Kipepeo Hotel was absolutely the right decision. They offer one of the best prices for what you get. And in town, it is getting difficult to find reasonable prices for middle-class hotels.
I stayed in a single-room, facing the main road. The only disturbing thing about that hotel side is that opposite, there is a Church-preacher’s hall, where meetings are held from Friday evening until Sunday afternoon. And this man is not just preaching, but typically African shouting out his words via microphone and in stereo! Plus, there is a kind of discotheque/club close to the hotel, which is quite loud on weekends, as well. So if you need to sleep, watch the windows are closed!
Still, the commodities, like free internet-access in all rooms (though with connection problems sometimes), like the very good breakfast buffet and a welcoming, helpful and friendly staff.
Taking into account that the area around River Road has changed, since police presence has increased, there is no more reason to avoid that quarter. I always felt safe coming back to the hotel, regardless of the time day and night.
In total, I can recommend the hotel, as prices are good, and quality and cleanness is fine. Just the noise is disturbing sometimes.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kipepeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kipepeo

Address: River Rd, opposite bank of africa next to eastmatt, Nairobi 75362, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kipepeo 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kipepeo is the flagship of the Kipepeo Group of Hotels, all offering accommodation and services at budget prices, comprising Hotel Kipepeo and Hotel Mariposa, both situated in the rapidly growing downtown section of Nairobi, while Kipepeo Avenue House is located in the heart of Nairobi's Central Business District.Hotel Kipepeo comprises 56 letting rooms which may be booked online, bar and a la carte restaurant. It is five minutes' walk from the Central Business District.All rooms are equipped with power showers and mosquito netting, computerised door locks, digital safes,satellite tv and CCTV enhanced security.Reception operates 24 hours and free wi-fi internet is available. The restaurant offers both international and local cuisine.The hotel has partnered with Spanish Express Coach services, offering a direct service to Mombasa which may be booked from within the hotel. The coach departs daily from the front of the hotel.Hotel Mariposa is situated five minutes' walk away from Hotel Kipepeo. It comprises 16 letting rooms and full bar and restaurant services. Free wi-fi internet is available.Hotel Mariposa also provides all the conference facilities of the Kipepeo Group of Hotels through several halls ranging from small meetings to major presentations. All halls are equipped with full digital screen services and any specialised equipment needed may be ordered in advance.The hotel also offers small lounges for hire for private meetings, with dedicated waiter service.In house manicure and pedicure services are offered on selected days of the week.Hotel Mariposa has partnered with Spanish Express Coach Services to Mombasa. The coaches, which may be booked at Hotel Kipepeo, depart from outside Hotel Mariposa.For guests staying at Hotels Kipepeo and Mariposa but working in the Central Business District, Kipepeo Avenue House offers full restaurant services and business lunches at competitive prices. Free wi-fi internet is available.Avenue House is situated opposite the New Stanley Hotel on Kenyatta Avenue.All three Kipepeo Hotels offer a changing mix of live entertainment on a nightly basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kipepeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kipepeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.