We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean but the location isnt good security wise at night,” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kipepeo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kipepeo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Kipepeo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   River Rd, opposite bank of africa next to eastmatt, Nairobi 75362, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 91 hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very clean but the location isnt good security wise at night,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I always have lunch here whilst in town as they make local foods to my liking, the hotel is very clean and the service very good, the restaurant has a balcony hence you can see what happens in the streets of downtown Nairobi.

The rooms are spacious, beds comfy actually for a budget hotel you will be very impressed by the level of their cleanliness and good service.
However the location of the hotel makes it insecure to access it at Night past 10pm but as long as you inthe confinement of the hotel by the then you safe.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street for a peaceful night [matatus hooting and all}
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    22
    6
    13
See reviews for
7
19
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I was looking for a hotel where Riverside shuttle (to Moshi) can pick me up for free in Nairobi. The price was reasonable for single (USD50). I emailed the hotel and got a confirmation before I left home, and there was no trouble when checking in. Some parts of the room looked tired, but what I needed (bed, toilet, shower) were fine and clean. The staff were very kind and helpful. I had a good language lesson and enjoyed ugari tasting at the restaurant. The reception guy helped me when the shuttle company forgot to send a driver to pick me up in the morning (almost missed the bus). It was only one night, so I did not walk around outside. But my impression was that when all the road work around the area finished, the access to the city centre would be safer and easier. Anyway, I appreciated the staff's cooperation.

Room Tip: I forgot my room number but mine was not facing a busy main street, so it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Staying at Kipepeo Hotel was absolutely the right decision. They offer one of the best prices for what you get. And in town, it is getting difficult to find reasonable prices for middle-class hotels.
I stayed in a single-room, facing the main road. The only disturbing thing about that hotel side is that opposite, there is a Church-preacher’s hall, where meetings are held from Friday evening until Sunday afternoon. And this man is not just preaching, but typically African shouting out his words via microphone and in stereo! Plus, there is a kind of discotheque/club close to the hotel, which is quite loud on weekends, as well. So if you need to sleep, watch the windows are closed!
Still, the commodities, like free internet-access in all rooms (though with connection problems sometimes), like the very good breakfast buffet and a welcoming, helpful and friendly staff.
Taking into account that the area around River Road has changed, since police presence has increased, there is no more reason to avoid that quarter. I always felt safe coming back to the hotel, regardless of the time day and night.
In total, I can recommend the hotel, as prices are good, and quality and cleanness is fine. Just the noise is disturbing sometimes.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uqbar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

after reading reviews here, I booked this hotel.
it is dirty, dysfunctional establishment, would not recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: there is no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were a party of 13, a school trip stopping over for one night before returning to the UK after volunteering in Nakuru for two weeks.
The restaurant staff didn't seem to have a clue how to take our evening meal order, and I had to take charge of the waiter and tell him how to go about sorting out the situation. The food did take a while to arrive, but when it did everyone seemed quite pleased with their choices.
The reception staff were very friendly and efficient. All staff that I came across were helpful.
The rooms were variable... My colleague and I had a rather small room (room 2) that they'd shoehorned two double beds into which was ridiculous. It left no room at all for moving about the room let alone 4 large suitcases to be stored. Any more than one night would have proved extremely wearing. Our toilet didn't work initially, and on fixing it meant we still had to lift the cistern lid to get a flush from it. We were in a room overlooking the main road at the front which was quite noisy and pretty continual. Other rooms within our party were more spacious, but some being "internal" (no outside windows, only windows overlooking internal passageways) meant they were absolutely swealtering and quite uncomfortable.
Be aware that their key system is decidedly suspect... a couple of students from our party were given a 'master' key which meant they could open any door within the hotel! They had two minutes of fun barging in on various individuals from our party before I took this from them and returned it to reception, which they duly changed, only for the second one to work in exactly the same way... The hotel reception realised an hour later and confiscated the key card altogether, which was then extremely awkward for the two lads concerned. The message is: make sure you lock your room internally, just in case this happens again.
Not bad value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The hotel was good and I found the restaurant staff were assuming a tip. I would like to personally thank Mr. Mark Ndala for cleaning my wound after stepping on a piece of glass on the stairs. Please add bandages and gloves to your first aid kit. It was awesome to see guards on every floor even during the day. Nairobi in general has changed. There is more security now which is good to see. We stayed in this hotel for 12 days and observed the staff become more and more lax in the restaurant. There was noise from the breakfast crew early in the morning. We saw a few coach roaches.

Room Tip: Room 18 is on the side where you hear all the noise from the morning staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juba
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel Kipepeo after being away from the country for the past year and found it to be all I remembered . The staff is very very friendly and helpful . My room was nice and always clean . Wifi is provided at no additional fee . Food at the hotel is reasonably priced as was the room . The location makes moving about the City Centre on foot easy and transport to any other desired location is readily available . Security is very good . I highly recomend this hotel to travelers visiting the city .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kipepeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kipepeo

Address: River Rd, opposite bank of africa next to eastmatt, Nairobi 75362, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 91 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kipepeo 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kipepeo is the flagship of the Kipepeo Group of Hotels, all offering accommodation and services at budget prices, comprising Hotel Kipepeo and Hotel Mariposa, both situated in the rapidly growing downtown section of Nairobi, while Kipepeo Avenue House is located in the heart of Nairobi's Central Business District.Hotel Kipepeo comprises 56 letting rooms which may be booked online, bar and a la carte restaurant. It is five minutes' walk from the Central Business District.All rooms are equipped with power showers and mosquito netting, computerised door locks, digital safes,satellite tv and CCTV enhanced security.Reception operates 24 hours and free wi-fi internet is available. The restaurant offers both international and local cuisine.The hotel has partnered with Spanish Express Coach services, offering a direct service to Mombasa which may be booked from within the hotel. The coach departs daily from the front of the hotel.Hotel Mariposa is situated five minutes' walk away from Hotel Kipepeo. It comprises 16 letting rooms and full bar and restaurant services. Free wi-fi internet is available.Hotel Mariposa also provides all the conference facilities of the Kipepeo Group of Hotels through several halls ranging from small meetings to major presentations. All halls are equipped with full digital screen services and any specialised equipment needed may be ordered in advance.The hotel also offers small lounges for hire for private meetings, with dedicated waiter service.In house manicure and pedicure services are offered on selected days of the week.Hotel Mariposa has partnered with Spanish Express Coach Services to Mombasa. The coaches, which may be booked at Hotel Kipepeo, depart from outside Hotel Mariposa.For guests staying at Hotels Kipepeo and Mariposa but working in the Central Business District, Kipepeo Avenue House offers full restaurant services and business lunches at competitive prices. Free wi-fi internet is available.Avenue House is situated opposite the New Stanley Hotel on Kenyatta Avenue.All three Kipepeo Hotels offer a changing mix of live entertainment on a nightly basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Hotel Kipepeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kipepeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.