We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel - they even returned my lost mobile phone!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kipepeo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kipepeo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kipepeo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   River Rd, opposite bank of africa next to eastmatt, Nairobi 75362, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic hotel - they even returned my lost mobile phone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

My husband and I and our 6 month old baby stayed here in March 2011 for one night en route to Tanzania.
Our room was clean and spacious, with a huge mosquito net and bed - perfect to unwind in after a long haul day time flight. The reception and porter staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient - particularly noting that we had a small baby. There were no disturbances and we all slept really well.
Breakfast was basic but completely fine and what you'd expect for the price. I find it a bit odd that people want to jet across to Africa and expect a full English breakfast in any case, but never mind...!
Anyway, we left the hotel in a rush to catch our bus to Tanzania and just as we were leaving the Nairobi suburbs I realised that I had left my mobile phone under my pillow in our room (a real panic, particularly when you're far away with a small baby). My husband managed to speak to the shuttle bus driver who phoned the hotel manager, and he personally went up to our room and confirmed that he had my phone. It was then arranged that the phone would be put on a shuttle the very next day and brought to Moshi... which is exactly what happened and my phone was safely returned to me.
I'd really recommend this hotel as a safe, clean budget option, and I'm hugely thankful that they helped us out.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    23
    7
    14
See reviews for
7
22
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for a night in July 2011.

Accommodation is basic, and my room was ventilated by a fan. Windows open to the staircase leading up to the rest of the levels in the hotel, and it was almost impossible to sleep with the consistent flow of guests.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Hotel Kipepeo was a fine place to stay in Nairobi. We found the room to be spacious enough and clean. The breakfast (included) in the morning provided sufficient choices and filled us up. A staff person even volunteered to walk us six blocks to catch a bus as we would not have known how to get there ourselves. It was a good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Wow..just, wow. The room was very expensive for the ghetto. Dirty sheets, bug net did not even cover both beds. No hot water in the room. I told the staff there was no hot water and all I got was an apology. I exited my room at 3am and found a staff member right outside my door which made me very uncomfortable. I exited the room at 4am to find another staff member stalking my room. My Mother was staying in the room next door. I knocked on her door and the stalking staff member was about 3 inches from me listening to me talk to my mother. To call it a flea bag motel is an understatement. It was down right creepy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

I spent one night in the Kipepeo hotel thinking that a 3 star hotel could not be so bad but I was wrong. Our toilett was broken, the sheets were not so clean and the breakfast was pretty poor. So you should really only stay there if you look for a very economic option in Nairobi

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hodgenville, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

My duties have me traveling around the world and staying in hotels all year round. Thus over the years, I have developed a great sense and taste for GREAT HOTELS. And I must confess that Hotel Kipepeo has become my best hotel in Africa. For three years now, my guests and I have never been disappointed by our choice of Hotel Kipepeo. At Kipepeo, I feel at home away from home. The hotel offers both international and local tastes/quality of everything—relaxation, security, food, adventure—you name it. I love their tidy, modern, and spacious rooms, their affordable prices, excellent foods, friendly and professional staff, free internet, and of course, Kipepeo’s perfect location in Nairobi. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Nairobi. It is simply the best out there! Thank you Hotel Kipepeo! Keep up the good work! Thanks, Daktari, USA.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011 via mobile

Considering it is in the city center for such a price it is good... They do their best to keep it clean and u are warned about theft... The staff are friendly and warm..it would be your ideal place for traveling cheap in Nairobi! Viva kipepo!
Rachel J
Liberian

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kipepeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kipepeo

Address: River Rd, opposite bank of africa next to eastmatt, Nairobi 75362, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kipepeo 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kipepeo is the flagship of the Kipepeo Group of Hotels, all offering accommodation and services at budget prices, comprising Hotel Kipepeo and Hotel Mariposa, both situated in the rapidly growing downtown section of Nairobi, while Kipepeo Avenue House is located in the heart of Nairobi's Central Business District.Hotel Kipepeo comprises 56 letting rooms which may be booked online, bar and a la carte restaurant. It is five minutes' walk from the Central Business District.All rooms are equipped with power showers and mosquito netting, computerised door locks, digital safes,satellite tv and CCTV enhanced security.Reception operates 24 hours and free wi-fi internet is available. The restaurant offers both international and local cuisine.The hotel has partnered with Spanish Express Coach services, offering a direct service to Mombasa which may be booked from within the hotel. The coach departs daily from the front of the hotel.Hotel Mariposa is situated five minutes' walk away from Hotel Kipepeo. It comprises 16 letting rooms and full bar and restaurant services. Free wi-fi internet is available.Hotel Mariposa also provides all the conference facilities of the Kipepeo Group of Hotels through several halls ranging from small meetings to major presentations. All halls are equipped with full digital screen services and any specialised equipment needed may be ordered in advance.The hotel also offers small lounges for hire for private meetings, with dedicated waiter service.In house manicure and pedicure services are offered on selected days of the week.Hotel Mariposa has partnered with Spanish Express Coach Services to Mombasa. The coaches, which may be booked at Hotel Kipepeo, depart from outside Hotel Mariposa.For guests staying at Hotels Kipepeo and Mariposa but working in the Central Business District, Kipepeo Avenue House offers full restaurant services and business lunches at competitive prices. Free wi-fi internet is available.Avenue House is situated opposite the New Stanley Hotel on Kenyatta Avenue.All three Kipepeo Hotels offer a changing mix of live entertainment on a nightly basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Kipepeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kipepeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.