We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to chat over a coffee or two! :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Java coffee house

Java coffee house
argwings kodhek road, Nairobi, Kenya
254714606724
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Coffee & Tea in Nairobi
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to chat over a coffee or two! :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

I was visiting my brother for a while who was working near Nairobi and we went in Java a few times. Its a bit of a ex-pat hang out and I found myself wanting to go somewhere a bit more local...
I guess it is a bit like going to starbucks or any of the other chain coffee places in the UK.
But it was a great atmosphere and there are a couple in Nairobi I think.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andersmagraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Coffee, Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I love hanging out at Java. It is always a pleasure to visit Java at the Junction when in Nairobi. The staff are pleasant, the restaurant is clean and the food is great. Give it a try!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lifession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“On urban oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Our team frequented this place while working at Waajiri house. A very nice, easy going atmosphere, very decent food (salad, soup, sandwiches, wraps, quesadilla, fajita, etc.) and drinks. Try the hot ginger and lemon drink -- yum!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beezeetravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty food and nice atmosphere at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I love Java House, whether it is to have coffee, breakfast or lunch (maybe I've had dinner there, too). They have a great menu and everything I've tried (except for the b-fast bagel) is good. It's one of the places in Nairobi that I visit the most (including at the airport, where they clearly need to expand!). Their coffee is very good, too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulaNairobi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Attention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Well the most first thingof my concern is the awareness of my presency,and to this is excellent.As a semi-vegg veggie quiche,it's cool n yuo can also get other delicasies coz service is always smart,perfect for non smokers like me so i enjoy much to there.if you like coffee that's the place to be.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java coffee house also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Java coffee house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing