We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Death by chocolate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Java coffee house

Java coffee house
argwings kodhek road, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Death by chocolate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The title of my review is the name of a desert that unfortunately is no longer on the Java menu. The chocolate fudge cake comes close, but nothing will ever beat 'death by chocolate'. Any-who, breakfast at Java is a treat. I work in the bushes of the northern frontier, so I have dreams of the Huevos rancheros. Warning: this is a large breakfast option, but YOLO! Once every 2 months is okay in my books. Wash this yummy decadence down with a large hot chocolate and dash back home to sleep it off :-) .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    179
    45
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best for coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Every time I go to Java I always have one thing in mind. Mocha! I can't even try to compare their mocha with any other place. Excellent they never disappoint! Great staff too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good meeting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

It is a good meeting place and lot of business happens here. The ambience is good for meetings and quality of food is good. Coffee extremely good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best American Comfort Food in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

When we were living in Nairobi, this was our go-to place for a little home comfort. It is hands down the best quality and value chain coffee shop I've experienced- in the U.S. or abroad. They have wonderful service, too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best airport coffee shop in Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Thank god there is Java coffee in this dull airport. Very good and fresh food and coffees, very friendly staff although a bit slow. Comfortable, lively yet relaxing enough, nice view on the sunset. Very safe, left many times my laptop to recharge with the bartender while going for a walk.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java coffee house also viewed

 

Been to Java coffee house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java coffee house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.