We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic cakes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Java coffee house

Java coffee house
argwings kodhek road, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
nairobi
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic cakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Not too much of a fan of the food, except the cheese pie, and the pancakes. The service is ok, at times rather disappointing.

However, the Carrot Cake, Chocolate Fudge cake is outstanding! The best i have sampled in this country..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    179
    45
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great coffee and pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I look forward to visiting Java House when I visit Nairobi. On this trip I ate at the Java House on Limuru road several times. Java House has a wide assortment of coffees, pastries, milkshakes and teas plus a complete breakfast, lunch and dinner menu. I enjoyed the fish and chips for dinner one night and the fish curry another night. After spending time in other areas of Africa that don't have a place like Java House, it was a treat to enjoy the great food at Java House.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

And lunch menu we ate fantastic salads I had blue cheese and walnut and apple .. Arnold Palmer best drink , staff great and secluded tables .
Even in heighten security still good

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Coffee Frappes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A friend and I stopped here on our way out of country and it was delicious! We both drank frappes and had a meal. All was absolutely delicious! I would definitely recommend this to anyone who needs a place for a meal, wifi, and is craving a first world coffee.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Nice Coffee Latte”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A pretty good lunch menu and full coffee menu. I could not find a Starbucks in Nairobi (not my favourite coffee anyway, but usually safe when travelling) but this was a good substitute. Not just coffee.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java coffee house also viewed

 

Been to Java coffee house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java coffee house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.