We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic cakes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Java coffee house

Java coffee house
argwings kodhek road, Nairobi, Kenya
254714606724
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Coffee & Tea in Nairobi
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
nairobi
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic cakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Not too much of a fan of the food, except the cheese pie, and the pancakes. The service is ok, at times rather disappointing.

However, the Carrot Cake, Chocolate Fudge cake is outstanding! The best i have sampled in this country..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    229
    58
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great coffee and pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I look forward to visiting Java House when I visit Nairobi. On this trip I ate at the Java House on Limuru road several times. Java House has a wide assortment of coffees, pastries, milkshakes and teas plus a complete breakfast, lunch and dinner menu. I enjoyed the fish and chips for dinner one night and the fish curry another night. After spending time in other areas of Africa that don't have a place like Java House, it was a treat to enjoy the great food at Java House.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

And lunch menu we ate fantastic salads I had blue cheese and walnut and apple .. Arnold Palmer best drink , staff great and secluded tables .
Even in heighten security still good

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Coffee Frappes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A friend and I stopped here on our way out of country and it was delicious! We both drank frappes and had a meal. All was absolutely delicious! I would definitely recommend this to anyone who needs a place for a meal, wifi, and is craving a first world coffee.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice Coffee Latte”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A pretty good lunch menu and full coffee menu. I could not find a Starbucks in Nairobi (not my favourite coffee anyway, but usually safe when travelling) but this was a good substitute. Not just coffee.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java coffee house also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Java coffee house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java coffee house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.