We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Java coffee house

Java coffee house
argwings kodhek road, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was great having a business lunch there.

We had no reservations but we got a table of four.

The hostess was great and the service really quick.

I will definitely come back again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    179
    45
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent for coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

What I love about java is that all their outlets have the same quality of food. Their milkshakes are to die for double mocha is thick and has a rich chocolatey coffee taste. Try their pancakes with maple syrup dusted with castor sugar and strawberries. This a great place for a Sunday brunch or an early breakfast

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I recently visited Nairobi and as I had a extremely good experience in Uganda at Cafe Javas, I was under the impression that Java House Coffee ship was the same, but only on arrival realised it is not. We went to the Capital Centre, Mombasa Road branch and the first thing that set me off was that the menu had pork, so that made it a no-no being muslim, so no meals to be had there.

We then decided to get some take out cappuchino but that is not the same as sitting down and having it in a glass cup!

With more visits to Kenya planned in the future, I will certainly have to look for an eating place other than coffee

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice place for coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice and secure place in the business area of Nairobi where you can have a very good cup of coffee and a pastry or even a meal.
I go to Kenya almost every year and every time I go to Java for a cup of coffee...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“The Food has Improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I must say that I recently went to Java House and found that the food had improved. I had a Thai Salad as well as a delicious vegetable wrap. The staff is very friendly and polite. They aren't to blame for the rather slow service. Java House in most of their locations is simply understaffed. Their coffee is superb and yes they do offer free Wi-Fi service. It's a great place for young children as they're offered coloring books and crayons.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java coffee house also viewed

 

Been to Java coffee house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java coffee house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.