We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Coffee in a a place that is known for coffee”
Review of Java coffee house

argwings kodhek road, Nairobi, Kenya
Update restaurant details
Ranked #15 of 301 restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
23 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    81
    130
    34
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Java coffee house
See the most recent reviews
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Coffee in a a place that is known for coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Don't miss it if you are a coffee lover!
Meals are good as well but you will go away with a coffee buz like no other :)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Ce'beautifull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have had the pleasure sampling almost all the java's in Nairobi.I always enjoy my meal and the service is great.I like the consistency, you go to any of their many outlets and it's the same, good food, nice service, nice ambiance, the prices are fair. It is total value for your money. I would recommend it any day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“JUST AWESOME”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I like the consistency, you go to any of their many outlets and it's the same, good food, nice service, nice ambiance, the prices are fair. It is total value for ur money. I would recommend it any day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“A chain restaurant, and a pretty good one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

With Java you know what you are going to get. Its a decent chain restaurant with various coffees, cakes and light meals (salads, burgers etc), in the bigger branches at least. Service can be hit and miss, but that's more or less everywhere in Nairobi. The chocolate fudge cake is veeery rich, and the banana bread not bad. Salads are good - the only minus was when we went the other day, they had run out of chips for the burgers (this was at the start of a busy Friday night) and offered salad as a side instead. OK, not a problem - but running out of chips? For a fast food outlet, kind of a no-no ;-)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Java gigiri”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have had the pleasure sampling almost all the java's in Nairobi.and the best is the Gigiri branch.Guess its because of the location. I always enjoy my meal and the service is great.parking can be a problem but its always full so I guess that is a good sign. in general I have been a fan of this coffee house since it begun. Nowadays though the milkshake is not as it used to be. Thought it was a one time thing till I tried a few more branches(guess its the economy). it had one of the best milkshakes ever(quite thick and delicious) not anymore,they aren't bad but I know it can be better. prices are now higher and in some cases not valid.how is hot water lemon and ginger 200 shillings??
All in all I am a fan and will be as long as the standards are maintained.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java coffee house also viewed

 

Been to Java coffee house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java coffee house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.