We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST AWESOME” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Java coffee house

Java coffee house
argwings kodhek road, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“JUST AWESOME”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I like the consistency, you go to any of their many outlets and it's the same, good food, nice service, nice ambiance, the prices are fair. It is total value for ur money. I would recommend it any day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    179
    45
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“A chain restaurant, and a pretty good one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

With Java you know what you are going to get. Its a decent chain restaurant with various coffees, cakes and light meals (salads, burgers etc), in the bigger branches at least. Service can be hit and miss, but that's more or less everywhere in Nairobi. The chocolate fudge cake is veeery rich, and the banana bread not bad. Salads are good - the only minus was when we went the other day, they had run out of chips for the burgers (this was at the start of a busy Friday night) and offered salad as a side instead. OK, not a problem - but running out of chips? For a fast food outlet, kind of a no-no ;-)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Java gigiri”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have had the pleasure sampling almost all the java's in Nairobi.and the best is the Gigiri branch.Guess its because of the location. I always enjoy my meal and the service is great.parking can be a problem but its always full so I guess that is a good sign. in general I have been a fan of this coffee house since it begun. Nowadays though the milkshake is not as it used to be. Thought it was a one time thing till I tried a few more branches(guess its the economy). it had one of the best milkshakes ever(quite thick and delicious) not anymore,they aren't bad but I know it can be better. prices are now higher and in some cases not valid.how is hot water lemon and ginger 200 shillings??
All in all I am a fan and will be as long as the standards are maintained.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pur-fect ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Java has been consistent with its quality of service ever since I first visited.it luxurious & reasonably priced all while feeling Kenyan.I love love their chicken strips salad!!!best of all they positively and immediately respond to suggestions.
the only down thing about it is you find priced have jumped upwards...e.g. last year the chicken strips salad was KES 420 thereabouts..it's now KES 540 they added like 100 bob on top!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food and drinks, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a cool chain that feels local but has international conveniences. It's a good landmark for downtown too because everyone knows where it is. Great menu; I had the vegetarian quiche one day and the almond croissant another. The Minty Pineapple juice was very nice too. Service is slow and you may have trouble getting a table at peak times. I say budget at least an hour for a lunch.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java coffee house also viewed

 

Been to Java coffee house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java coffee house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.