We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Java gigiri” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Java coffee house

Java coffee house
argwings kodhek road, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 316 restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Nairobi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Java gigiri”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have had the pleasure sampling almost all the java's in Nairobi.and the best is the Gigiri branch.Guess its because of the location. I always enjoy my meal and the service is great.parking can be a problem but its always full so I guess that is a good sign. in general I have been a fan of this coffee house since it begun. Nowadays though the milkshake is not as it used to be. Thought it was a one time thing till I tried a few more branches(guess its the economy). it had one of the best milkshakes ever(quite thick and delicious) not anymore,they aren't bad but I know it can be better. prices are now higher and in some cases not valid.how is hot water lemon and ginger 200 shillings??
All in all I am a fan and will be as long as the standards are maintained.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    86
    145
    38
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pur-fect ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Java has been consistent with its quality of service ever since I first visited.it luxurious & reasonably priced all while feeling Kenyan.I love love their chicken strips salad!!!best of all they positively and immediately respond to suggestions.
the only down thing about it is you find priced have jumped upwards...e.g. last year the chicken strips salad was KES 420 thereabouts..it's now KES 540 they added like 100 bob on top!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food and drinks, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a cool chain that feels local but has international conveniences. It's a good landmark for downtown too because everyone knows where it is. Great menu; I had the vegetarian quiche one day and the almond croissant another. The Minty Pineapple juice was very nice too. Service is slow and you may have trouble getting a table at peak times. I say budget at least an hour for a lunch.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a nice place for coffee and lunch too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

located in one of the famous street of nairobi, koinange street. it a cool yet a classy meeting point where you can have that finger licking dish . a nice place indeed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I literally do not know what id do without Java. My tastes, my preferences and fantastic service. Always going to have my business!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java coffee house also viewed

 

Been to Java coffee house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java coffee house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;