We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice place for coffee and lunch too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Java coffee house

Java coffee house
argwings kodhek road, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a nice place for coffee and lunch too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

located in one of the famous street of nairobi, koinange street. it a cool yet a classy meeting point where you can have that finger licking dish . a nice place indeed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    86
    145
    37
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I literally do not know what id do without Java. My tastes, my preferences and fantastic service. Always going to have my business!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“monopoly at the airport, great in general”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

with Wi-Fi, many drinks options (iced coffee's teas, etc. the only complaint I have is snack & Food-On-The-Go selection.
although it's still decent, it's not the best I've had in kenya.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hot Lemon and Ginger!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Java is a great local spot for breakfast or lunch. Food is pretty tasty and service good. The hot lemon and ginger drink is AMAZING! My husband is addicted. I love the fact there is one at the airport - makes waiting there bearable!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Average food, spotty service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

There are java locations all around Nairobi and the food is pretty consistent throughout. They have an amazing honey, lemon, and ginger drink that cures all ails

My biggest gripe is that they've started serving pretty small portions, particularly for lunch. Also, the service can sometimes be really bad, but I think this varies from location to location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java coffee house also viewed

 

Been to Java coffee house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java coffee house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.