We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Java coffee house

Java coffee house
argwings kodhek road, Nairobi, Kenya
Update restaurant details
Ranked #15 of 300 restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are sick & tired of the hustle & bustle, and just want to sit somewhere, have a good cup of coffee and utilize wi-fi, this is a wonderful place to go.

There have been many times we were subject to a rolling blackout for days & the only way to charge the phones were to go to a Java House & plug in while having a drink or a surprisingly wide selection of food.

They are easy& safe meeting places. I recommend the hot ginger & lemon w/honey.

* Hint- if there are no available plugs, it is common to share a table with people you don't know. Just ask & you will probably be invited to sit on the other side of the booth.
* Hint #2- It's well-known that people are there for the wireless. Leave good tips and the servers don't mind at all when you stay for an hour or two. And be sure to have a good firewall- people actively try to hack!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    80
    130
    34
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
world
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice environment and excellent coffee, to me the best in Kenya, pastry and service are also good.
You can now get the same in Mombasa, also good, do not miss it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I had a doctor's appointment on a saturday in the same building housing Java Upper Hill Medical and as I waited for my friend decided to have some brunch! The service was not up to par as it took the intervention of the duty manager/supervisor to get service but the omelette/home fries & toast were yummy when I was finally served! I find the taste of their tea keeping changing though, not the best I've tasted! They have wonderful minty pineade juice great in this hot weather.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Cafe Food in Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

A broad and tasty menu, if a little expensive. Service is generally very good too. Lots of outlets across Nairobi, they all seem to be the same high standard.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Standards Starting To Slip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Went to Java house at ABC centre for lunch yesterday and was disappointed. As always it is very busy, but we had to ask a number of times for our drinks / ice. I had Masala Chips which were cold and the sandwich wasn't great.

Used to go here alot for lunch, but maybe they have become too busy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java coffee house also viewed

 

Been to Java coffee house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java coffee house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.