We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standards Starting To Slip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Java coffee house

Java coffee house
argwings kodhek road, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Coffee & Tea in Nairobi
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Coffee & Tea, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Coffee & Tea, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Nairobi
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Standards Starting To Slip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Went to Java house at ABC centre for lunch yesterday and was disappointed. As always it is very busy, but we had to ask a number of times for our drinks / ice. I had Masala Chips which were cold and the sandwich wasn't great.

Used to go here alot for lunch, but maybe they have become too busy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    216
    53
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoy your Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A nice meeting place for good coffee and food, avoid rush hours, ideal for a relaxed breakfast or brunch on a Sunday morning, a good choice of cuisine,nice informal ambiance for young and old.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great coffee but very crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It is undeniably the best coffee shop in Nairobi. Their coffee is the best.However, the place is too small and crowded for one to enjoy their coffee.
The lunch period of between 12pm and 1pm are the busiest.
Best time to visit is before 12 or around 3pm before evening.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, but very busy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had to wait some time before we could be seated but this is the kind of place that would make most Westerners feel 'at home'. It's a cross between Starbucks and a Western restaurant (prices reflect this as well). Because of this nature, it gets a lot of traffic from well-to-do Kenyans and foreigners alike so expect to wait if you come on an evening.

The food is above average and can be a nice break if you're looking for something that you're used to. The highlight? They have REAL ketchup! If you've travelled within Kenya or parts of Africa, you would immediately appreciate this.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Coffee House in Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

There is nothing as good as having that perfect cup of coffee. Java house just did that by serving me the best cup of joe, that I hadn't for a while. It has a very cozy ambiance and it is quite trendy to say the least. I had a great fun with my click of friends and it is a joint that you would love to frequent quite often. The cool thing is that they have shops situated all over the country and you can enjoy the same quality at all of their shops. over all this is a great meeting place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java coffee house also viewed

 

Been to Java coffee house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java coffee house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.