We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Kenya coffee, melt-in-your-mouth croissants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Java coffee house

Java coffee house
argwings kodhek road, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Coffee & Tea in Nairobi
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Coffee & Tea, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Coffee & Tea, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night
Port Charlotte, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Kenya coffee, melt-in-your-mouth croissants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

After a week on safari with good but not great (dark) coffee, Java House was heaven! And.... (my standards for croissants are high; I've lived in France), the almond croissant was bliss.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    200
    50
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Business Coffee House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a good place for all business discussions for individuals. It is well located, placed and roomy for all what one would need for a nice business discussion. The Coffee is fresh and well prepared to taste.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have rarely been so impressed overall with a place as I have with Java Coffee House, no matter which one I have been to in Nairobi. Great atmosphere, an impressive variety of good-tasting food, excellent coffee, and fantastic customer service! My wife and I once made the mistake of arriving during the extremely busy lunch hour at the Yaya Centre Java Coffee House. No tables were available but the waitresses arranged for us to just sit for a few minutes at a table occupied by another client who agreed to let us use a couple of empty chairs. Within a short period, we had our own comfortable booth and enjoyed another good meal. Highest recommendations!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
528 reviews 528 reviews
431 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“Above average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Given that stopping at a cafe for a coffee and pastry can be a bit of a gamble this place is reasonably safe. The airport branch has excellent service too!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“The safe option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Africa in general, and Nairobi in particular, can hardly be described as a hotbed of culinary delights. The Java House coffee shop and restaurant chain is reliable and consistent, without being outstanding. The menu is mostly western, with breakfast, salads, burgers, steaks, and even a bit of faux Mexican. Tasty enough, but hardly gourmet fare. As other reviewers have noted, it is consistent -- order a dish in any of the outlets and it will be pretty much the same as elsewhere. Some -- but not all -- offer free wi-fi hot spots, no log-in required. The baristas seem to be well trained, and Java also sells a range of packaged Kenyan coffees and teas. If my review sounds a little lukewarm, don't let it put you off ... it's safe, it's pleasant, and you won't feel hungry when you leave.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java coffee house also viewed

 

Been to Java coffee house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java coffee house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.