We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glass in our Food!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars

Cedars
Lenana Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 2710399/2718893/2718904/2721622
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 323 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Glass in our Food!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went to cedars for a big birthday dinner last night - been there before and the food has always been good. We got full mezze (way too much food even for ten people as a FYI).

My friend put a bite of food in his mouth and went white and spit out in a napkin 7 glass chards the size of peas! We called over the waiter, and he took my friends plate away and never even brought him a new one or came to apologize. So we asked to see the manager and the chef and went into the kitchen. They hunted through the plate of food and found the glass in the garlic sauce. Mind you that there were chards of glass all over the kitchen floor. They agreed that they would comp something on our bill as he could have gone to the hospital or worse.

Fast forward to getting our bill... and no comp'ed items. They said they would comp a cappuccino if we wanted one! Another of our party had to go into the kitchen and give them an earful - about how any other country and they would be sued and shut down. They finally comp'ed our water and dessert only.

Really really appalled at the service, the lack of apologizing for finding GLASS in our food, and the inability to do anything about our bill. They were downright rude. Its too bad as the food is pretty good, but we will never be going back here after this experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    39
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Glass in food. Disappointed in service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We've visited Cedar's three times since January 2013. The food is tasty, ambience is nice and the service is pretty good. Prices are a bit expensive at 650 to 700 shillings per mezze like labneh and hummus, but portions are generous.

Here's why I decided to write a review: tonight we were extremely alarmed when a friend found a dozen small shards of glass in the food he was chewing. When we brought this to the attention of the staff, they were nonchalant. Upon further questioning, they were able to determine the glass came from something broken in the kitchen that entered the garlic condiment. Had other friends not been insistent, the restaurant would have continued serving the condiment with the glass in it. They did nothing to compensate my friend, and indeed left the entire meal on his bill until another friend brought to their attention the seriousness of the situation at which point they thoughtfully refunded his portion. Unfortunately, this situation has given us such a poor opinion of the restaurant that we will not be returning. Too bad.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamanca, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Writing this review with a stomach ache.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It was the birthday of a friend of mine and we decided to go to this place to celebrate it. However, ended up being a BAD IDEA...

Found out pieces of broken glass in the garlic sauce which almost cost me some broken teeth. We told about this to the Chef and the only answer we got was: "There is nothing we can do, the boss is not picking up his phone".

Never coming back to this place again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

All in all an excellent evening spot and the best barbecue wings!!!! Both indoors and outdoor sitting with a separate bar. Ample parking space.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A mediterranean feast !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013


Fantastic mediterranean experience - they have large platters with multiple dishes... including vegetarian options. Good value, too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedars also viewed

 

Been to Cedars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.