We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glass in food. Disappointed in service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars

Cedars
Lenana Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 2710399/2718893/2718904/2721622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 361 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Glass in food. Disappointed in service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We've visited Cedar's three times since January 2013. The food is tasty, ambience is nice and the service is pretty good. Prices are a bit expensive at 650 to 700 shillings per mezze like labneh and hummus, but portions are generous.

Here's why I decided to write a review: tonight we were extremely alarmed when a friend found a dozen small shards of glass in the food he was chewing. When we brought this to the attention of the staff, they were nonchalant. Upon further questioning, they were able to determine the glass came from something broken in the kitchen that entered the garlic condiment. Had other friends not been insistent, the restaurant would have continued serving the condiment with the glass in it. They did nothing to compensate my friend, and indeed left the entire meal on his bill until another friend brought to their attention the seriousness of the situation at which point they thoughtfully refunded his portion. Unfortunately, this situation has given us such a poor opinion of the restaurant that we will not be returning. Too bad.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    60
    18
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salamanca, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Writing this review with a stomach ache.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It was the birthday of a friend of mine and we decided to go to this place to celebrate it. However, ended up being a BAD IDEA...

Found out pieces of broken glass in the garlic sauce which almost cost me some broken teeth. We told about this to the Chef and the only answer we got was: "There is nothing we can do, the boss is not picking up his phone".

Never coming back to this place again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

All in all an excellent evening spot and the best barbecue wings!!!! Both indoors and outdoor sitting with a separate bar. Ample parking space.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A mediterranean feast !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013


Fantastic mediterranean experience - they have large platters with multiple dishes... including vegetarian options. Good value, too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
149 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good but not Great Lebanese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I enjoyed my meal at Cedars. Nonetheless I can't say that my dinner was outstanding and that I have an overwhelming desire to go back. The food was solid Lebanese food which I have eaten many times before. The service was good, but nothing special. It was a little on the expensive side. I agree that the interior could use some redecorating. The location is superb.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedars also viewed

 

Been to Cedars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.