We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Writing this review with a stomach ache.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars

Cedars
Lenana Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 2710399/2718893/2718904/2721622
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Salamanca, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Writing this review with a stomach ache.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It was the birthday of a friend of mine and we decided to go to this place to celebrate it. However, ended up being a BAD IDEA...

Found out pieces of broken glass in the garlic sauce which almost cost me some broken teeth. We told about this to the Chef and the only answer we got was: "There is nothing we can do, the boss is not picking up his phone".

Never coming back to this place again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    32
    36
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Excellent Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

All in all an excellent evening spot and the best barbecue wings!!!! Both indoors and outdoor sitting with a separate bar. Ample parking space.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A mediterranean feast !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013


Fantastic mediterranean experience - they have large platters with multiple dishes... including vegetarian options. Good value, too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good but not Great Lebanese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I enjoyed my meal at Cedars. Nonetheless I can't say that my dinner was outstanding and that I have an overwhelming desire to go back. The food was solid Lebanese food which I have eaten many times before. The service was good, but nothing special. It was a little on the expensive side. I agree that the interior could use some redecorating. The location is superb.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food. Service & Ambiance needs improvement.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Been here 3 times. Eaten in twice and taken out once.

Raves;
- Tasty food. I've tried their chicken wings, mezzes, steaks etc.
- Good location - off Lenana Road which i find quite convenient.

Rants
- Food display lacks creativity/artistry.
- Interior & exterior seating needs an uplift. The terrace close to the car park leaves alot to be desired. The restaurant interior is okay but somewhat feels like 'lonely'. Add flowers, paintings, music...just something.
- Service improvement also needed. Hostess[es] were too busy giggling to show me to a table. A friend once asked for a recommendation & the waiter said 'fish and chips'. Quite disappointing given this is a Lebanese restaurant.
- No music playing in the background - please include.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedars also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Cedars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.