We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mediterranean feast !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars

Cedars
Lenana Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 2710399/2718893/2718904/2721622
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A mediterranean feast !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013


Fantastic mediterranean experience - they have large platters with multiple dishes... including vegetarian options. Good value, too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    48
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good but not Great Lebanese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I enjoyed my meal at Cedars. Nonetheless I can't say that my dinner was outstanding and that I have an overwhelming desire to go back. The food was solid Lebanese food which I have eaten many times before. The service was good, but nothing special. It was a little on the expensive side. I agree that the interior could use some redecorating. The location is superb.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food. Service & Ambiance needs improvement.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Been here 3 times. Eaten in twice and taken out once.

Raves;
- Tasty food. I've tried their chicken wings, mezzes, steaks etc.
- Good location - off Lenana Road which i find quite convenient.

Rants
- Food display lacks creativity/artistry.
- Interior & exterior seating needs an uplift. The terrace close to the car park leaves alot to be desired. The restaurant interior is okay but somewhat feels like 'lonely'. Add flowers, paintings, music...just something.
- Service improvement also needed. Hostess[es] were too busy giggling to show me to a table. A friend once asked for a recommendation & the waiter said 'fish and chips'. Quite disappointing given this is a Lebanese restaurant.
- No music playing in the background - please include.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant In Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Although getting a bit pricy this is still my favourite restaurant in Nairobi. As a vegetarian there is nothing that can beat their vegetarian mezze which is a truely amazing variety of flavours.
Don't think that I have managed to finish everything that they bring yet.
Just wish they would open one up in Karen!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Lebanese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

After a long time my parents, husband and some family friends decided to try Lebanese. Cedars did not disappoint the food was delicious as far as vegetarians were concerned. Excellent tabbouleh, hummus, baba ghanoush, labne, and falafel. The meat eaters had the veg starters then ordered a Shish taouk which they were disappointed in especially at 1500 for the dish. Service was fantastic, very efficient. There is a great looking playground which looks ideal for a family lunch with kids. The outdoor eating area is ok. My one complain was the price of lime cordial! I ordered a shot of lime cordial and a sprite, the lime cordial shot was 150shs! That I thought was ridiculous!
Apart from that a great meal and yes would definitely go back again but will not be asking for lime cordial.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedars also viewed

 

Been to Cedars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.