We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lebanese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars

Cedars
Lenana Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 2710399/2718893/2718904/2721622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 384 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Lebanese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

After a long time my parents, husband and some family friends decided to try Lebanese. Cedars did not disappoint the food was delicious as far as vegetarians were concerned. Excellent tabbouleh, hummus, baba ghanoush, labne, and falafel. The meat eaters had the veg starters then ordered a Shish taouk which they were disappointed in especially at 1500 for the dish. Service was fantastic, very efficient. There is a great looking playground which looks ideal for a family lunch with kids. The outdoor eating area is ok. My one complain was the price of lime cordial! I ordered a shot of lime cordial and a sprite, the lime cordial shot was 150shs! That I thought was ridiculous!
Apart from that a great meal and yes would definitely go back again but will not be asking for lime cordial.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Twiga6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Lebanese in East Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Mezzes are pretty decent but you can also do pretty well ordering single dishes of your favorites and sharing them. We like the mini chicken schwarma, falafel, tabouli, hummus, baba ghanoush, and cheese sambousa. Kind of a bummer that they don't have a good lamb dish or lamb schwarma. Great chicken dishes though. Super attentive service who keep you well stocked in drinks and endless pita bread. Watch your wallet if ordering the juice here, its well overpriced. Everything else is a pretty decent value though.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DavidKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but quite expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Setting, service and food are very good and there is a playground for kids but prices are a bit expensive for Nairobi average.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank VGSHTairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isiolo, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for kids on a sunday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Nice food, nice ambiance, lovely outdoor eating areas- and the best thing about it: a great playground at the back where kids 2 years and older can play.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BushAdventures-Kenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I have ordered take out from Yum (yum.co.ke) and I have eaten here - the food is fantastic whether it is delivered to your door or if you eat it there. Great falafel sandwich!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank infinitemass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedars also viewed

 

Been to Cedars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing