We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lebanese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars

Cedars
Lenana Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 2710399/2718893/2718904/2721622
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Lebanese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

After a long time my parents, husband and some family friends decided to try Lebanese. Cedars did not disappoint the food was delicious as far as vegetarians were concerned. Excellent tabbouleh, hummus, baba ghanoush, labne, and falafel. The meat eaters had the veg starters then ordered a Shish taouk which they were disappointed in especially at 1500 for the dish. Service was fantastic, very efficient. There is a great looking playground which looks ideal for a family lunch with kids. The outdoor eating area is ok. My one complain was the price of lime cordial! I ordered a shot of lime cordial and a sprite, the lime cordial shot was 150shs! That I thought was ridiculous!
Apart from that a great meal and yes would definitely go back again but will not be asking for lime cordial.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    48
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Lebanese in East Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Mezzes are pretty decent but you can also do pretty well ordering single dishes of your favorites and sharing them. We like the mini chicken schwarma, falafel, tabouli, hummus, baba ghanoush, and cheese sambousa. Kind of a bummer that they don't have a good lamb dish or lamb schwarma. Great chicken dishes though. Super attentive service who keep you well stocked in drinks and endless pita bread. Watch your wallet if ordering the juice here, its well overpriced. Everything else is a pretty decent value though.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good but quite expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Setting, service and food are very good and there is a playground for kids but prices are a bit expensive for Nairobi average.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isiolo, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place for kids on a sunday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Nice food, nice ambiance, lovely outdoor eating areas- and the best thing about it: a great playground at the back where kids 2 years and older can play.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I have ordered take out from Yum (yum.co.ke) and I have eaten here - the food is fantastic whether it is delivered to your door or if you eat it there. Great falafel sandwich!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedars also viewed

 

Been to Cedars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.